How do you find using the New Zealand Gazette?

Please give your feedback by completing this survey.

A replacement to this notice was published on 1 September 2022, Notice No. 2022-go3691.

Notice Type
Notice Title

Maximum Contribution Applying in Each Territorial Local Authority Region From 1 July 2022

Under section 53 of the Residential Care and Disability Support Services Act 2018, the Director-General of Health is required to notify the maximum contribution that applies in each region for long-term aged residential care.

The maximum contribution is the maximum weekly amount (inclusive of GST) that a resident assessed as requiring long-term residential care (through a needs assessment and service coordination agency) is required to pay for contracted care services provided to them in the region in which their rest home or continuing care hospital is located.

The maximum contribution is the same for all residents regardless of the type of contracted care services they receive. It is equivalent to the rest home contract price applying to residential care facilities in each territorial local authority region.

The maximum contribution set by this notice applies from 1 July 2022 and replaces the previous maximum contribution notice published in the New Zealand Gazette, 29 July 2021, Notice No. 2021-go3187.

The daily GST exclusive contract price for rest home has been increased by $2.75, GST has been added and the result has been multiplied by seven to determine the new maximum contribution. The calculations are rounded to two decimal places at each step.

Region: Territorial Local Authority Maximum Contribution Weekly (GST Inclusive)
Far North District 1203.51
Whangarei District 1230.39
Kaipara District 1203.51
Rodney District 1260.77
North Shore City 1294.02
Waitakere City 1267.42
Auckland City 1298.43
Manukau City 1285.13
Papakura District 1260.77
Franklin District 1227.03
Thames-Coromandel District 1208.27
Hauraki District 1208.27
Waikato District 1208.27
Matamata-Piako District 1208.27
Hamilton City 1239.49
Waipa District 1208.27
Otorohanga District 1199.10
South Waikato District 1199.10
Waitomo District 1203.58
Taupo District 1230.39
Western Bay of Plenty District 1227.03
Tauranga City 1245.79
Rotorua District 1230.39
Whakatane District 1221.43
Kawerau District 1203.51
Opotiki District 1203.51
Gisborne District 1205.96
Wairoa District 1225.84
Hastings District 1225.84
Napier City 1225.84
Central Hawke’s Bay District 1225.84
New Plymouth District 1225.84
Stratford District 1203.51
South Taranaki District 1208.27
Ruapehu District 1203.58
Wanganui District 1208.27
Rangitikei District 1203.51
Manawatu District 1203.51
Palmerston North City 1221.43
Tararua District 1203.51
Horowhenua District 1203.51
Kapiti Coast District 1230.39
Porirua City 1230.39
Upper Hutt City 1221.43
Lower Hutt City 1247.75
Wellington City 1267.84
Masterton District 1205.96
Carterton District 1203.51
South Wairarapa District 1203.51
Tasman District 1252.65
Nelson City 1252.65
Marlborough District 1221.43
Kaikoura District 1227.03
Buller District 1199.10
Grey District 1199.10
Westland District 1199.10
Hurunui District 1208.27
Waimakariri District 1227.03
Christchurch City 1234.73
Banks Peninsula District 1234.73
Selwyn District 1227.03
Ashburton District 1212.54
Timaru District 1208.27
Waimate District 1199.10
Waitaki District 1199.10
Central Otago District 1203.51
Queenstown-Lakes District 1248.38
Dunedin City 1221.43
Clutha District 1199.10
Southland District 1199.10
Gore District 1199.10
Invercargill City 1203.51

Copies of the maximum contribution amounts and other information about income and asset testing can be found on the Ministry of Health website at:

Needs assessment and service coordination agencies, Specialised Processing Services, Work and Income of the Ministry of Social Development and residential care providers, will also be able to advise the maximum contributions applying in each region.

Dated at Wellington this 30th day of June 2022.

Dr ASHLEY BLOOMFIELD, Director-General of Health.