Notice Type
Land Notices
Notice Title

Notice of the Final Determinations of the Minister for Land Information on Official Geographic Names

Pursuant to section 16 of the New Zealand Geographic Board (Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa) Act 2008 (“Act”), notice was given in the New Zealand Gazette, 27 May 2021, Notice No. 2021-ln1996 of proposals by the New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa (“Board”) to assign new and alter existing geographic names.

The Board dealt with the submissions it received for the proposals according to section 18 of the Act.

Having considered the reports from the Board, I hereby declare that my final determinations, made pursuant to sections 20(2) and 20(3) of the Act, are the official geographic names as described in the Schedule below.

I made my decisions on 21 September 2021 and my final determinations on the names will take effect on 13 October 2021.


Official Geographic Name

Geographic Feature Type and Description

Mount Axford

A 1720m peak approximately 1km northwest of Lake Victoria in the Kepler Mountains, Fiordland. NZTopo50-CD07 650563. New name assigned as official.


A general area that includes Wellington Botanic Garden and extends to the reserves and facilities around it including Bolton Street Memorial Park to the northeast and the Wellington Cable Car buildings to the south. NZTopo50-BQ31 480284. New name assigned as official.

Te Korowhakaunu / Kanáris Sound

A fiord centred at NZTopo50-CF05 125909. Altered from Te Korowhakaunu / Cunaris Sound (Official by New Zealand Gazette, 17 October 2019, Notice No. 2019-ln4767).

Dated at Wellington this 13th day of October 2021.

DAMIEN O’CONNOR, Minister for Land Information.