A revocation to this notice was published on 29 November 2018, Notice No. 2018-go6069 and 18 December 2019, Notice No. 2019-go5923., a related notice was published on 20 April 2020, Notice No. 2020-go1696, and a revocation was published on 12 October 2020, Notice No. 2020-go4734.

Notice Type
Notice Title

Appointment of Directors of Area Addiction Services

Pursuant to section 88(1) of the Substance Addiction (Compulsory Assessment and Treatment) Act 2017, I, John Crawshaw, Director of Addiction Services, designate the persons set out in the Schedule to this notice as Directors of Area Addiction Services (Area Directors) for the areas indicated.

Each Area Director is appointed to one or more District Health Boards (DHBs), as defined in Schedule 1 of the New Zealand Public Health and Disability Act 2000.

Schedule – Area Directors



Northland, Waitemata, Auckland, and Counties Manukau DHBs

Susanna Galea-Singer, psychiatrist, and clinical director of Waitemata

Waikato DHB

Tejpal Singh, clinical director, of Waikato

Bay of Plenty and Tairawhiti DHBs

Sue Mackersey, clinical director of Bay of Plenty

Lakes DHB

Cathal Cassidy, consultant psychiatrist, of Rotorua

Taranaki DHB

Sharat Shetty, consultant psychiatrist, and clinical director of Taranaki

Hawke’s Bay, Whanganui, and Midcentral DHBs

Jeff Hammond, associate director of nursing, and director of area mental health services of Whanganui

Nelson Marlborough DHB

Michael Haskew, addiction medicine specialist, of Nelson

West Coast, Canterbury, South Canterbury, and Southern DHBs

Alfred Dell’ario, clinical director at Canterbury and West Coast

Dated at Wellington this 3rd day of November 2017.

Dr JOHN CRAWSHAW, Director of Addiction Services.