Notice Type
Authorities/Other Agencies of State
Notice Title

Determination of New Organisms

Pursuant to section 26 of the Hazardous Substances and New Organisms Act 1996 (“Act”), the Environmental Protection Authority hereby determines that Bacillus paranthracis, Paenibacillus shenyangensis, Pseudomonas carnis, Pseudomonas graminis, and Pseudomonas orientalis are not new organisms for the purposes of the Act.

The Environmental Protection Authority further recognises that due to a taxonomic reorganisation Bacillus velezensis is the accepted name for Bacillus amyloliquefaciens subsp. plantarum, which was determined to be a not new organism in 2008, and also for Bacillus methylotrophicus.

Dated at Wellington this 27th day of September 2023.

KAREN COUTTS, Chair, Decision-making Committee of the Authority.