Notice Type
Land Notices
Notice Title

Notice of Decisions to Approve Undersea Feature Names as Official

Pursuant to sections 10(1)(d), 24(2)(a) and 24(3) of the New Zealand Geographic Board (Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa) Act 2008, the New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa (“Board”) gives notice of three undersea feature names within New Zealand’s 12 nautical mile territorial limit approved as official, as described in the Schedule below.

The Board’s final determinations on these undersea feature names took effect on 16 May 2022.


Approved Official Undersea Feature Name
Description Coordinates (latitude, longitude)
Grono Basin An undersea basin approximately 2km northwest of Grono Bay, in Doubtful Sound / Patea. Depicted on Doubtful Sound NW Chart©, Irwin and Main, 1981. -45.2777, 166.9138
Kahutara Spur An undersea spur that forms the eastern boundary of Kaikōura Canyon. Depicted on Pegasus Chart©, Herzer & Carter, 1983. -42.5469, 173.7525
Yates Canyon An undersea canyon offshore from Yates Point on the Fiordland coast. Depicted on Milford Chart©, Garlick et al., 2001. -44.45, 167.6333

Dated at Wellington this 16th day of May 2022.

W. K. SHAW, Secretary, New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa.