Notice Type
Notice Title

Designation of Four Terrorist Entities

On 28 August 2022 pursuant to section 22 of the Terrorism Suppression Act 2002 (TSA), the organisations listed below were designated as a terrorist entity in New Zealand.

Any person who deals with the property of, or makes property or financial or related services available to, the entities listed below may be liable to prosecution for an offence under sections 9 and 10 of the TSA.

Furthermore, any institution or person who suspects that property is owned by either entity is required to report the existence of that property to the Commissioner of Police.


Al-Aqsa Martyrs’ Brigade (AAMB, also known as Al-Aasa Martyrs’ Brigade, Al-Aqsa Intifada Martyrs’ Group, Al-Aqsa Brigades, Martyrs of Al-Aqsa Group, Al-Aqsa Martyrs’ Battalion, and Armed Militias of the Al-Aqsa Martyr Battalions)


Al-Muqawama al-Islamiyya (also known as the Military Wing of Lebanese Hizbollah; Military Wing of Hezbollah; Military Wing of Hizbullah; The Islamic Resistance; IR)


Izz al-Din al-Qassam Brigades (IQB) (Also known as the Military wing of Hamas, Ezzedeen Al-Qassam Brigades (EQB), or Izz al-Din Al-Qassem Brigades (IQB)


Palestinian Islamic Jihad (PIJ)

The statement of case for both groups’ designation is available on the New Zealand Police website:

The designations of AAMB, IR, IQB and PIJ will expire on 28 August 2025 unless earlier revoked or extended pursuant to section 35 of the TSA.

ANDREW COSTER, Commissioner of Police.