Notice Type
Notice Title

Designation of Six Terrorist Entities

On 14 August 2022 pursuant to section 22 of the Terrorism Suppression Act 2002 (“TSA”), the organisations listed below were designated as a terrorist entity in New Zealand.

Any person who deals with the property of, or makes property or financial or related services available to, the entities listed below may be liable to prosecution for an offence under sections 9 and 10 of the TSA.

Furthermore, any institution or person who suspects that property is owned by either entity is required to report the existence of that property to the Commissioner of Police.


Continuity Irish Republican Army (CIRA, also known as Continuity IRA)


Ejercito de Liberacion Nacional (ELN, also known as National Liberation Army (NLA) and Army of National Liberation)


Harkat-ul-Jihad-al-Islami, Bangladesh (HUJI-B, also known as Islami Dawat-e-Kafela, Harakat ul-Jihad e Islami Bangladesh, Harkatul-Jihad-al-Islam, Harkatul Jihad, Harakat-ul-Jihad-al-Islami, Harkat-ulJehad-al-Islami or Harakat-ul-Jihad-Islami Bangladesh)


Indian Mujahideen (IM, also known as Indian Mujahidin)


New People’s Army and the Communist Party of the Philippines, (NPA/CPP)


Real Irish Republican Army (RIRA, also known as Real IRA, New IRA)

The statement of case for both groups’ designation is available on the New Zealand Police website:

The designations of CIRA, ELN, HUJI-B, IM, NPA/CPP, and RIRA will expire on 14 August 2025 unless earlier revoked or extended pursuant to section 35 of the TSA.

ANDREW COSTER, Commissioner of Police.