A replacement to this notice was published on 29 July 2021, Notice No. 2021-go3187.

Notice Type
Notice Title

Maximum Contribution Applying in Each Territorial Local Authority Region From 1 July 2021

Under section 53 of the Residential Care and Disability Support Services Act 2018, the Director-General of Health is required to notify the maximum contribution that applies in each region for long-term aged residential care.

The maximum contribution is the maximum weekly amount (inclusive of GST) that a resident assessed as requiring long-term residential care (through a needs assessment and service coordination agency) is required to pay for contracted care services provided to them in the region in which their rest home or continuing care hospital is located.

The maximum contribution is the same for all residents regardless of the type of contracted care services they receive. It is equivalent to the rest home contract price applying to residential care facilities in each territorial local authority region.

The maximum contribution set by this notice applies from 1 July 2021 and replaces the previous maximum contribution notice published in the New Zealand Gazette, 30 June 2020, Notice No. 2020-go2874.

The daily GST exclusive contract price for rest home has been increased by $6.40, GST has been added and the result has been multiplied by seven to determine the new maximum contribution. The calculations are rounded to two decimal places at each step.

Region: Territorial Local Authority District Health Board Maximum Contribution Weekly (GST Inclusive)
Far North District Northland $1,151.08
Whangarei District Northland $1,177.26
Kaipara District Northland $1,151.08
Rodney District Waitemata $1,206.73
North Shore City Waitemata $1,239.14
Waitakere City Waitemata $1,213.24
Auckland City Auckland $1,243.34
Manukau City Counties Manukau $1,230.46
Papakura District Counties Manukau $1,206.73
Franklin District Counties Manukau $1,173.97
Thames-Coromandel District Waikato $1,155.63
Hauraki District Waikato $1,155.63
Waikato District Waikato $1,155.63
Matamata-Piako District Waikato $1,155.63
Hamilton City Waikato $1,186.08
Waipa District Waikato $1,155.63
Otorohanga District Waikato $1,146.74
South Waikato District Waikato $1,146.74
Waitomo District Waikato $1,151.15
Taupo District Lakes $1,177.26
Western Bay of Plenty District Bay of Plenty $1,173.97
Tauranga City Bay of Plenty $1,192.17
Rotorua District Lakes $1,177.26
Whakatane District Bay of Plenty $1,168.51
Kawerau District Bay of Plenty $1,151.08
Opotiki District Bay of Plenty $1,151.08
Gisborne District Tairawhiti $1,153.46
Wairoa District Hawke’s Bay $1,172.78
Hastings District Hawke’s Bay $1,172.78
Napier City Hawke’s Bay $1,172.78
Central Hawke’s Bay District Hawke’s Bay $1,172.78
New Plymouth District Taranaki $1,172.78
Stratford District Taranaki $1,151.08
South Taranaki District Taranaki $1,155.63
Ruapehu District Waikato $1,151.15
Wanganui District Whanganui $1,155.63
Rangitikei District Whanganui $1,151.08
Manawatu District MidCentral $1,151.08
Palmerston North City MidCentral $1,168.51
Tararua District MidCentral $1,151.08
Horowhenua District MidCentral $1,151.08
Kapiti Coast District MidCentral and Capital & Coast $1,177.26
Porirua City Capital & Coast $1,177.26
Upper Hutt City Hutt Valley $1,168.51
Lower Hutt City Hutt Valley $1,194.13
Wellington City Capital & Coast $1,213.66
Masterton District Wairarapa $1,153.46
Carterton District Wairarapa $1,151.08
South Wairarapa District Wairarapa $1,151.08
Tasman District Nelson Marlborough $1,198.89
Nelson City Nelson Marlborough $1,198.89
Marlborough District Nelson Marlborough $1,168.51
Kaikoura District Canterbury $1,173.97
Buller District West Coast $1,146.74
Grey District West Coast $1,146.74
Westland District West Coast $1,146.74
Hurunui District Canterbury $1,155.63
Waimakariri District Canterbury $1,173.97
Christchurch City Canterbury $1,181.46
Banks Peninsula District Canterbury $1,181.46
Selwyn District Canterbury $1,173.97
Ashburton District Canterbury $1,159.90
Timaru District South Canterbury $1,155.63
Waimate District South Canterbury $1,146.74
Waitaki District Southern $1,146.74
Central Otago District Southern $1,151.08
Queenstown-Lakes District Southern $1,194.69
Dunedin City Southern $1,168.51
Clutha District Southern $1,146.74
Southland District Southern $1,146.74
Gore District Southern $1,146.74
Invercargill City Southern


Copies of the maximum contribution amounts and other information about income and asset testing can be found on the Ministry of Health website at www.health.govt.nz/our-work/life-stages/health-older-people/long-term-residential-care/maximum-contribution.

Needs assessment and service coordination agencies, Specialised Processing Services, Work and Income of the Ministry of Social Development and residential care providers, will also be able to advise the maximum contributions applying in each region.

Dated at Wellington this 27th day of June 2021.

Dr ASHLEY BLOOMFIELD, Director-General of Health.