Notice Type
Notice Title

Special Direction—Waiver of the Requirement for a Transit Visa to Travel to and be in New Zealand as a Transit Passenger

Pursuant to section 86(4)(a) of the Immigration Act 2009, by special direction, the following persons are classified as persons to whom a transit visa waiver applies. Any person who is to travel to and be in New Zealand as a transit passenger only:

  1. who is a citizen of, or a foreign national ordinarily resident in, one of the countries listed in the attached Schedule – 1; or
  2. who is the immediate family (partners, spouses, dependent children under the age of 24 and legal guardians) travelling with the person to whom clause 1 applies; and
  3. whose immediate destination after transiting through New Zealand is either;
    1. the country of which they are a citizen of or ordinarily resident in; or
    2. a third party country of which they are not a citizen or ordinarily resident in; and
  4. for whom there is a government to government assurance to the satisfaction of the Minister of Foreign Affairs or his or her delegated representative, to support the repatriation of stranded people where the following conditions are met:
    1. they remain airside (do not enter New Zealand) and do not exceed 24 hours in transit; and
    2. health requirements have been met; and
    3. they are accepted back into the country of which they are a citizen of, or foreign national ordinarily resident in; and/or
    4. any third party countries in which they are transiting after New Zealand, allow their onward travel to support their repatriation into the country of which they are a citizen of, or foreign national ordinarily resident in.

This special direction expires on 19 June 2020, unless cancelled earlier.

Dated this 21st day of April 2020.

Hon IAIN LEES-GALLOWAY, Minister of Immigration.

Schedule – Schedule 1

  1. Argentina
  2. Austria
  3. Belgium
  4. Brazil
  5. Bulgaria
  6. Canada
  7. China
  8. Croatia
  9. Denmark
  10. Ecuador
  11. Finland
  12. France
  13. Germany
  14. Italy
  15. Japan
  16. Malaysia
  17. Mexico
  18. North Macedonia
  19. Norway
  20. Poland
  21. Qatar
  22. Republic of Korea
  23. Slovak Republic
  24. Slovenia
  25. Spain
  26. Sweden
  27. Switzerland
  28. The Netherlands
  29. United Kingdom
  30. United States of America
  31. Uruguay