Notice Type
Notice Title

Redesignation of Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Waioweka (2061) (Opotiki)

Under section 154A of the Education Act 1989 (“Act”), I hereby declare that Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Waioweka (2061) will have its designation as a kura kaupapa Māori removed and will be redesignated as a designated character school on 1 January 2020.

School Name

The name of the school will be changed to Te Kura o Waioweka.

Aims Purposes and Objectives

Te Kura o Waioweka will operate under the following aims, purposes, and objectives that will together constitute its designated character:

  • To nurture each individual learner, through Mana Ahureatanga, Mana Mātauranga and Mana Orangatonutanga.
  • The development of learners’ knowledge of Ngāti Iratanga, Te Whakatōhea and strengthening relationships and connections with their whānau, hapū and iwi.
  • To instil the values of whānau, manaaki, wairua, tiaki, aroha and pono as the guiding lights that will permeate throughout the kura.
  • To strive for the highest quality of learning and achievement allowing for individual differences in learning, to allow for those with special needs and to provide learning situations of non-failure.
  • Retention of the aspirations of the koroua and kuia of Ngāti Ira and revitalisation of the customs and traditional knowledge of its hapū.
  • Te Kura o Waioweka is a member of Ngā Kura ā Iwi o Aotearoa. Our kaupapa aligns with Ngā Kura ā Iwi and fully support the focus on our learners achieving Te Tihi o Angitu (cultural autonomy, intellectual independence and holistic wellbeing).

Constitution of the Board of Trustees

The Te Kura o Waioweka Board of Trustees will be constituted under section 94 of the Act.

Dated at Wellington this 20th day of November 2019.

Hon CHRIS HIPKINS, Minister of Education.