Notice Type
Notice Title

Terrorist Designation of Ten Entities Renewed

On 5 September 2019 the terrorist designations of Al-Aqsa Martyrs’ Brigades (AAMB), Continuity Irish Republican Army (CIRA), Ejército de Liberación Nacional (ELN), Harakut-ul-Jihad-al-Islami, Bangladesh (HUJI-B), Indian Mujahideen (IM), Izz al-Din al-Qassam Brigades (IQB), Palestinian Islamic Jihad (PIJ), Lebanese Hizbollah’s military wing, Al-Muqawama al-Islamiyya (IR), New People’s Army/Communist Party of the Philippines (NPA/CPP) and Real Irish Republican Army (RIRA), were renewed pursuant to section 35 of the The Terrorism Suppression Act 2002 (TSA).

Any person who deals with the property of the entities listed below may be liable to prosecution for an offence under section 9 of the TSA.


Al-Aqsa Martyrs’ Brigade (AAMB, also known as Al-Aqsa Martyrs’ Brigade, Al-Aqsa Intifada Martyrs’ Group, Al-Aqsa Brigades, Martyrs of Al-Aqsa Group, Al-Aqsa Martyrs’ Battalion and Armed Militias of the Al-Aqsa Martyr Battalions); and

Continuity Irish Republican Army (CIRA, also known as Continuity IRA); and

Ejército de Liberación Nacional (ELN, also known as National Liberation Army (NLA) and Army of National Liberation); and

Harkat-ul-Jihad-al-Islami, Bangladesh (HUJI-B, also known as Islami Dawat-e-Kafela, Harakat ul-Jihad e Islami Bangladesh, Harkatul-Jihad-al-Islam, Harkatul Jihad, Harakat-ul-Jihad-al-Islami, Harkat-ulJehad-al-Islami or Harakat-ul-Jihad-Islami Bangladesh); and

Indian Mujahideen (IM, also known as Indian Mujahidin); and

Izz al-Din al-Qassam Brigades (IQB, also known as the Military wing of Hamas, Ezzedeen Al-Qassam Brigades (EQB), or Izz al-Din Al-Qassem Brigades); and

Lebanese Hizbollah’s military wing, Al-Muqawama al-Islamiyya (IR, also known as the Military Wing of Lebanese Hizbollah; Military Wing of Hezbollah; Military Wing of Hizbullah; The Islamic Resistance); and

New People’s Army and the Communist Party of the Philippines, (NPA/CPP); and

Palestinian Islamic Jihad (PIJ, also known as Islamic Jihad, Islamic Jihad (in/of) Palestine, Islamic Jihad – Palestine Faction and Islamic Holy War, Palestinian Islamic Jihad – Shaqaqi Faction, Palestinian Islamic Jihad – Shallah Faction, Harakat al-Jihad al Islami fi Filistin, Jihad al-Islami, Abu Ghunaym Squad of the Hizballah Bayt al-Maqdis, al-Quds Brigades, Saraya al-Quds (Jerusalem Battalions/The Jerusalem Brigades), Saraya al-Mujihadeen or Al-Awdah Brigades, al-Quds Squads, Islamic Jihad Palestine (IJP)); and

Real Irish Republican Army (RIRA, also known as Real IRA, New IRA).

Statements of case for all ten entities designation renewal are available on the New Zealand Police website:

The designations of all ten entities expire on 26 September 2022 unless earlier revoked or extended pursuant to section 35 of the TSA.

MIKE BUSH, Commissioner of Police.