Notice Type
Authorities/Other Agencies of State
Notice Title

Notice of Proposed Electoral Districts of New Zealand

The Representation Commission (“Commission”) hereby gives notice that it proposes to make a division of New Zealand into 65 General electoral districts and seven Māori electoral districts in accordance with sections 35 and 45 of the Electoral Act 1993 (“Act”). The following information is supplied pursuant to sections 38 and 45 of the Act and for the assistance of the public:

  1. From 10.30am on Wednesday 20 November 2019 the public may inspect, without charge, at the places listed in the Schedule hereto:
    1. the names, and a description of the boundaries of the proposed districts, including maps; and
    2. a summary, in respect of each proposed district, of the reasons why the boundaries described are being proposed.

    The above descriptions in text and map form can also be viewed at

  2. Written objections to the proposed boundaries or to the proposed names are now invited and must be received by the Commission no later than 5.00pm on Friday 20 December 2019. Late objections cannot be considered.
  3. Objectors to electoral boundaries are requested to base their objection, and any suggested solution, on the following statutory considerations.

    All electorates must contain electoral populations varying not more or less than 5 percent from the following quotas:



    ± 5% Allowance

    North Island General Electorates



    South Island General Electorates



    Māori Electorates



    Within those allowances, the Commission is required by law to give due consideration to certain criteria.

    In the case of General electoral districts these criteria are the existing boundaries of the General electoral districts, community of interest, facilities of communications, topographical features, and any projected variation in the General electoral population of those districts during their life.

    In the case of Māori electoral districts these criteria are the existing boundaries of the Māori electoral districts, community of interest among the Māori people generally and members of Māori tribes, facilities of communications, topographical features, and any projected variation in the Māori electoral population of those districts during their life.

  4. Objections must be in writing and should clearly state:
    1. the name and contact details of the objector
    2. the proposed electorate to which the objection applies
    3. the specific proposal objected to
    4. the reasons for the objection
    5. any suggested solution, and
    6. whether the objector wishes to speak to their objection at public hearings of the Commission to be held in February 2020.

    Where objection is taken to different proposals of the Commission a separate objection should be filed in respect of each proposal.

    An objection can be completed online at

    Whether or not an objector is heard, their written objection will be fully considered.

  5. Objections may be lodged:

    online at:;

    by post addressed to: The Secretary, Representation Commission, PO Box 3220, Wellington 6140; or

    by email to:

  6. All objections will be published online at including the objectors’ names. A public notice inviting counter-objections is expected to be gazetted on Friday 10 January 2020.

Dated at Wellington this 20th day of November 2019.

CRAIG THOMPSON, Chairman of the Representation Commission.

Schedule of Places for Inspection

General and Māori Electorates

  1. The offices of all Regional Councils, District Councils, and City Councils.
  2. The offices of the Electoral Commission, including all Registrars of Electors offices at Christchurch, Dunedin, Ellerslie, Gisborne, Greymouth, Hamilton, Invercargill, Masterton, Napier, Nelson, New Plymouth, Palmerston North, Rotorua, Tauranga, Timaru, Wellington and Whangārei.
  3. Te Puni Kōkiri offices at Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Gisborne, Hamilton, Hastings, Nelson, New Plymouth, Porirua, Rotorua, Tauranga, Whakatāne, Whanganui and Whangārei.
  4. All Public Libraries.