Notice Type
Notice Title

Designation of Two Terrorist Entities

On 21 March 2018, pursuant to section 22 of the Terrorism Suppression Act 2002 (“TSA”), the organisations listed below were designated as terrorist entities in New Zealand.

Any person who deals with the property of the entities listed below may be liable to prosecution for an offence under section 9 of the TSA.


Jamaah Anshrout Daulah (also known as JAD; Jemaah Anshorut Daulah; Jamaah Ansharut Daulat; Jamaah Ansharut Daulah; Jemaah Ansharut Daulah; Jemaah Anshar Daulah; Jamaah Ansharud Daulah; The Partisans of the State Group; Jamaah Anshar Daulah Khilafah Nusantara; and, Jemaah Anshar Daulah Khilafah Nusantara (JADKN)); and

Maute Group (also known as Islamic State in Lanao; Islamic State of Lanao; Islamic State Lanao; IS-Ranao; Lions of IS Ranao; Daulah Islamiyah Fi Ranao; Dawla Islamiya Ranao; Islamic State in the Southern Philippines; Islamic State East Asia; Maute ISIS; Grupong ISIS; Grupo ISIS; and, Khilafah Islamiyah Mindanao (KIM)).

The two statements of case for designation are available on the New Zealand Police website:

These designations expire on 21 March 2021, unless earlier revoked or extended pursuant to section 35 of the Terrorism Suppression Act 2002.

MIKE BUSH, Commissioner of Police.