Notice Type
Notice Title

Two Terrorist Entity Designations Expire; Remain Designated Via UNSCR 1267 Listing

Pursuant to Section 42 of the Terrorism Suppression Act 2002 (TSA)

On 4 March 2017 the designations of Jama’atu Ansaril Muslimina fi Biladis Sudan (“Ansaru”) and Jama’atu Ahlis Sunna Lidda’awati Wal Jihad (“Boko Haram”) as terrorist entities, made pursuant to section 22 of the Terrorism Suppression Act 2002 on 4 March 2014, expired.

Both entities remain designated as terrorist entities by virtue of the 22 May 2014 listing of Boko Haram, and the 26 June 2014 listing of Ansaru, by the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) Committee, pursuant to Resolutions 1267 (1999), 1989 (2011) and 2253 (2015), concerning ISIL (Daesh), Al-Qaida and associated individuals, groups, undertakings and entities.

Section 3(c) of the TSA and UNSC Resolutions 1267, 1989 and 2253 specifically oblige New Zealand to take action against those entities the UNSC 1267, 1989 and 2253 Committee lists. Listed entities are defined as designated terrorist entities under section 4 of the TSA and so engage the criminal provisions of the TSA without requiring further designation under section 22 of the TSA.

Any person who deals with the property of the entities listed below, or makes property or financial or related services available to the entities listed below, therefore continues to be liable to prosecution for offences under sections 9 and 10 of the TSA.


Jama’atu Ansaril Muslimina fi Biladis Sudan (also known as Ansaru, Ansarul Muslimina Fi Biladis Sudan, Vanguard for the Protection of Muslims in Black Africa, Supporters of the Muslims in the Land of the Blacks or JAMBS). Sanctions List Permanent Reference Number: QDe.138.

Jama’atu Ahlis Sunna Lidda’awati Wal Jihad (also known as Boko Haram, Jama’atu Ahlus-Sunna Lidda’Awati Wal-Juhad, Nigerian Taliban, People Committed to the Prophet’s Teachings for Propagation and Jihad, Group of the Followers of the Prophet for Propagation and Holy Struggle, Sunni Group for Preaching and Jihad). Sanctions List Permanent Reference Number: QDe.142.

The designations will remain in effect until delisted by the UNSC 1267 Committee or the UNSC.

A complete list of all entities designated in New Zealand is available at

Sanctions List Materials are available at and

MIKE BUSH, Commissioner of Police.