How do you find using the New Zealand Gazette?

Please give your feedback by completing this survey.

A replacement to this notice was published on 9 June 2016, Issue No. 53, Notice No. 2016-go3295.

Notice Type
Notice Title

Maximum Contribution Applying in Each Territorial Local Authority Region From 1 July 2015

Under section 152 of the Social Security Act 1964, the Director-General of Health is required to notify the maximum contribution that applies in each region for long-term aged residential care.

The maximum contribution is the maximum weekly amount (inclusive of GST) that a resident assessed as requiring long-term residential care (through a needs assessment and service coordination agency) is required to pay for contracted care services provided to them in the region in which their rest home or continuing care hospital is located.

The maximum contribution is the same for all residents regardless of the type of contracted care services they receive. It is equivalent to the rest home contract price applying to residential care facilities in each territorial local authority region.

The maximum contribution set by this New Zealand Gazette notice applies from 1 July 2015 and replaces the previous maximum contribution notice published in the New Zealand Gazette, 11 September 2014, No. 109, page 3035.

The daily GST exclusive contract price for rest home services has been increased by 0.7%, GST has been added and the result has been multiplied by seven to determine the new maximum contribution. The calculations are rounded to two decimal places at each step.

Region: Territorial Local Authority District Health Board Maximum Contribution Weekly (GST Inclusive)
Far North District Northland 879.20
Whangarei District Northland 902.58
Kaipara District Northland 879.20
Rodney District Waitemata 929.11
North Shore City Waitemata 958.09
Waitakere City Waitemata 934.92
Auckland City Auckland 961.94
Manukau City Counties Manukau 950.32
Papakura District Counties Manukau 929.11
Franklin District Counties Manukau 899.78
Thames-Coromandel District Waikato 883.26
Hauraki District Waikato 883.26
Waikato District Waikato 883.26
Matamata-Piako District Waikato 883.26
Hamilton City Waikato 910.49
Waipa District Waikato 883.26
Otorohanga District Waikato 875.35
South Waikato District Waikato 875.35
Waitomo District Waikato 879.27
Taupo District Lakes 902.58
Western Bay of Plenty District Bay of Plenty 899.78
Tauranga District Bay of Plenty 915.95
Rotorua District Lakes 902.58
Whakatane District Bay of Plenty 894.81
Kawerau District Bay of Plenty 879.20
Opotiki District Bay of Plenty 879.20
Gisborne District Tairawhiti 881.23
Wairoa District Hawke’s Bay 898.59
Hastings District Hawke’s Bay 898.59
Napier City Hawke’s Bay 898.59
Central Hawke’s Bay District Hawke’s Bay 898.59
New Plymouth District Taranaki 898.59
Stratford District Taranaki 879.20
South Taranaki District Taranaki 883.26
Ruapehu District Waikato 879.27
Wanganui District Whanganui 883.26
Rangitikei District Whanganui 879.20
Manawatu District MidCentral 879.20
Palmerston North City MidCentral 894.81
Tararua District MidCentral 879.20
Horowhenua District MidCentral 879.20
Kapiti Coast District MidCentral and Capital & Coast 902.58
Porirua City Capital & Coast 902.58
Upper Hutt City Hutt Valley 894.81
Lower Hutt City Hutt Valley 917.77
Wellington City Capital & Coast 935.27
Masterton District Wairarapa 881.23
Carterton District Wairarapa 879.20
South Wairarapa District Wairarapa 879.20
Tasman District Nelson Marlborough 922.04
Nelson City Nelson Marlborough 922.04
Marlborough District Nelson Marlborough 894.81
Kaikoura District Canterbury 899.78
Buller District West Coast 875.35
Grey District West Coast 875.35
Westland District West Coast 875.35
Hurunui District Canterbury 883.26
Waimakariri District Canterbury 899.78
Christchurch City Canterbury 906.36
Banks Peninsula District Canterbury 906.36
Selwyn District Canterbury 899.78
Ashburton District Canterbury 887.04
Timaru District South Canterbury 883.26
Waimate District South Canterbury 875.35
Waitaki District Southern 875.35
Central Otago District Southern 879.20
Queenstown-Lakes District Southern 918.33
Dunedin City Southern 894.81
Clutha District Southern 875.35
Southland District Southern 875.35
Gore District Southern 875.35
Invercargill City Southern 879.20


Copies of the maximum contribution amounts and other information about income and asset testing can be found on the Ministry of Health website at

Needs assessment and service coordination agencies, Specialised Processing Services, Work and Income of the Ministry of Social Development and residential care providers, will also be able to advise the maximum contributions applying in each region.

Dated at Wellington this 14th day of June 2015.

CHAI CHUAH, Director-General of Health.