Notice Type
Notice Title

Designation of Hagley Community College (336), Christchurch as a Designated Character School

Pursuant to section 154A of the Education Act 1989, I hereby declare that Hagley Community College (336) will be designated as a designated character school on 28 January 2016.

Designated character for Hagley Community College

Hagley Community College (336) will provide a unique education for students who would not otherwise access learning within mainstream education.

It will offer a broad curriculum that allows students across Christchurch City to access a relevant education designed around their individual needs. Students who demonstrate a willingness to be adaptive, flexible, and work collaboratively with Hagley Community College (336) will be given preference for enrolment.

This designated character is lived out:

  • by ensuring the board, staff, students and the culture of the school is one that values trust, respect, integrity and personal responsibility;
  • by being open for instruction between the hours of 8.40am–9.00pm to enable access to education by adult students;
  • by acknowledging students’ differences, supporting them as they learn and celebrating their successes;
  • by providing innovative learning programmes which:
    1. include core curriculum, specialist pathways and collaboration with other regional groups.
    2. provide for full-time and part-time students who are based both on the Hagley Community College (336) campus and in collaborative learning experiences across the city.
    3. are for both adolescents (secondary students) and adults.
    4. provide for disengaged adolescents and adult learners, students with previously limited aspirations and for those who now want to engage with learning but are finding it difficult to do so.

Constitution of the Board of Trustees

The constitution of the Board of Trustees of Hagley Community College (336) will not be changed by this notice.

Dated at Wellington this 10th day of June 2015.

KATRINA CASEY, Deputy Secretary, Sector Enablement and Support, Ministry of Education.