Notice Type
Notice Title

Alternative Constitution for the Wairau Valley School (3062) Board of Trustees

Under section 105A of the Education Act 1989, I hereby approve the following constitution for the Wairau Valley School (3062) Board of Trustees:

The Wairau Valley School (3062) Board of Trustees will be made up of the following members:

  1. Two parent representatives;
  2. the principal;
  3. one staff representative; and
  4. up to two trustees appointed by the Director of Education for Nelson/Marlborough/West Coast.

Except as set out in this constitution, all provisions of the Education Act 1989 and any Regulations made under it, regarding eligibility, casual vacancies, appointments, terms of office and elections, apply to the board.

For the first elections of the parent and staff representatives, a returning officer will be appointed by the commissioner and will carry out the duties in accordance with the Education (School Trustees Elections) Regulations 2000.

All trustees will take office when the current commissioner’s appointment ends.

The first term of office of elected and appointed trustees under this constitution will end seven days after the last date of the range of dates set by the Minister for the triennial election in 2016.

This notice will come into force on the day after its publication in the New Zealand Gazette.

Changes to the constitution of the board will be subject to the approval of the Minister of Education and must be notified in the New Zealand Gazette.

Dated at Wellington this 28th day of April 2015.

Hon HEKIA PARATA, Minister of Education.