Notice Type
Notice Title

Alternative Constitution for the Northland College (9) Board of Trustees

Pursuant to section 105A of the Education Act 1989, I hereby approve the following constitution for the Northland College (9) Board of Trustees:

The Northland College (9) Board of Trustees will be made up of the following members:

  1. one parent representative;
  2. the principal;
  3. one staff representative;
  4. one student representative;
  5. up to one co-opted trustee;
  6. up to one trustee appointed by Te Runanga o Ngāpuhi; and
  7. up to three Ministerial appointed trustees.

The appointment of a trustee may be for a term not exceeding three years.

Sections 96, 97, 101,104, and 105 of the Education Act 1989 will apply in respect of the board.

For the first elections, a returning officer will be appointed by the commissioner and will carry out the duties in accordance with the Education (School Trustee Elections) Regulations 2000.

All trustees will take office when the current commissioner’s appointment ends, which will be seven days after the date set for the parent and staff election. The first term of office of elected and appointed trustees will end on the last date of the range of dates set by the Minister for the next triennial election in 2016.

Changes to the constitution of the board will be subject to the approval of the Minister of Education and must be notified in the New Zealand Gazette.

This notice shall come into force on the day after its notification in the New Zealand Gazette.

Dated at Wellington this 28th day of April 2015.

Hon HEKIA PARATA, Minister of Education.

Explanatory Note: Te Runanga o Ngāpuhi is to manage all processes associated with identifying and appointing the trustee it may appoint for the board.