Notice Type
Land Notices
Notice Title

Notice of Discontinued Official Geographic Names

Pursuant to sections 10(1)(d), 24(2)(b) and 24(3) of the New Zealand Geographic Board (Nga Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa) Act 2008 ("Act"), the New Zealand Geographic Board Nga Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa ("Board") hereby gives notice of two discontinued official geographic names.
These discontinued official geographic names relate to geographic feature types that the Board does not have naming jurisdiction for, and therefore they should not be official names.
However, once discontinued, they may continue to be used, but would no longer be subject to the requirements of the Act, and the future responsibility for their naming, if any, will no longer lie with the Board.
The first column of the Schedule below specifies these discontinued official geographic names.
The geographic feature type that they relate to is set out in the second column of the Schedule.
The former New Zealand Gazette notice that they relate to is set out in the third column of the Schedule.
Details of each discontinued official geographic name can be requested in writing from the Secretary of the New Zealand Geographic Board, c/o Land Information New Zealand, PO Box 5501, Wellington 6145. Email:
The Board's final determinations on these discontinued official geographic names took effect on 28 August 2014.
Discontinued Official Geographic Names (2)
First Column Second Column Third Column
Discontinued Official Geographic Name Geographic Feature Type Former New Zealand Gazette
Hawke's Bay County County 17 February 1983, No. 18, page 409
Kahuranaki Crown Grant District Crown Grant District 19 January 1950, No. 4, page 39
Dated at Wellington this 28th day of August 2014.
W. K. SHAW, Secretary, New Zealand Geographic Board Nga Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa.