Notice Type
Notice Title

Renewed Designations of Terrorist Entities

On 2 October 2013, pursuant to section 35 of the Terrorism Suppression Act 2002, the terrorist designations of the entities listed below were renewed for a further three years.
Any person who deals with the property of the entities listed below may be liable to prosecution for an offence under section 9 of the Terrorism Suppression Act 2002.
Al-Aqsa Martyrs' Brigades (also known as AAMB);
Continuity Irish Republican Army (also known as Continuity IRA or CIRA);
Ejercito de Liberacion Nacional (also known as National Liberation Army and ELN);
Harakat-ul-Jihad-al-Islami, Bangladesh (also known as HUJI-B, Islami Dawat-e-Kafela (IDEK); Harakat ul-Jihad e Islami Bangladesh; Harkatul-Jihad-al-Islam; Harkatul Jihad; Harakat-ul-Jihad-al-Islami; Harkat-ul-Jihad-al-Islami; Harkat-ul-Jehad-al-Islami; and Harakat-ul-Jihad-Islami Bangladesh)
Indian Mujahideen (also known as Indian Mujahidin or IM);
Islamic Resistance (also known as the military wing of Lebanese Hizbollah, Al-Muqawama al-Islamiyya and IR);
Izz al-Din al-Qassam Brigades (the military wing of Hamas and also known as Ezzedeen Al-Qassam Brigades and Izz al-Din Al-Qassem Brigades);
New People's Army and the Communist Party of the Philippines (also known as NPA/CPP);
Palestinian Islamic Jihad (also known as PIJ, Palestinian Islamic Jihad - Shaqaqi Faction; Palestinian Islamic Jihad - Shallah Faction; Islamic Jihad; Islamic Jihad (in/of) Palestine; Islamic Jihad - Palestine Faction and Islamic Holy War; Harakat al-Jihad al Islami fi Filistin; Jihad al-Islami; Abu Ghunaym Squad of the Hizballah Bayt al-Maqdis), including its military wing, the Al-Quds Brigades (also known as the Saraya al-Quds, Jerusalem Battalions, Saraya al-Mujihadeen and Al-Awdah Brigades)); and
Real Irish Republican Army (also known as the Real IRA or RIRA).
The 10 statements of case for renewal are available on the New Zealand Police website at
These designations expire on 2 October 2016, unless it is earlier revoked or extended pursuant to section 35 of the Terrorism Suppression Act 2002.
PETER MARSHALL, Commissioner of Police.