Notice Type
Land Notices
Notice Title

Notice of the Final Determinations of the Minister for Land Information on Official Geographic Names

Pursuant to section 16 of the New Zealand Geographic Board (Nga Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa) Act 2008 ("the Act"), notice was given in the New Zealand Gazette, 9 June 2011, No. 81, page 1915, of proposals by the New Zealand Geographic Board Nga Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa ("Board") to assign new and alter existing geographic names.
Submissions received for the geographic name proposals were dealt with by the Board according to section 18 of the Act.
After considering reports from the Board, I hereby declare that my final determinations for the geographic names, made pursuant to sections 20(2) and 20(3) of the Act and, as specified in the first column of the Schedule below ("the Schedule"), are now the official geographic names.
The geographic feature types that these names relate to are set out in the second column of the Schedule.
The descriptions for these names are set out in the third column of the Schedule.
The date on which I made my decisions was 27 March 2012.
My final determinations on these names shall take effect on 10 May 2012.
First Column Second Column Third Column
Name Geographic
Feature Type Description
North Auckland Land District
Swann Beach Beach A very small beach located on the northern coast of Whangaparaoa Peninsula, within Waiau Bay and Polkinghornes Bay and west of Big Manly Beach. NZTopo50 BA32-Auckland, centred at GR 563 455. Spelling alteration from Swan Beach (recorded name).
South Auckland Land District
Te Tahuna o Rangataua Bay Tidal mudflats and sandy area of the inner south-east reaches of Tauranga Harbour, bounded by State Highway 2 at west and extending over Welcome Bay at the south-west. NZTopo50 BD37-Tauranga, GR 832 221. Alteration from Rangataua Bay and replacing New Zealand Gazette, 7 February 1974, No. 11, page 233.
Canterbury Land District and Westland Land District
Ayres Ridge Ridge Significant alpine feature, elevation over 3,000m, extending from a snow col north-east of and below Mount Haidinger and rising northerly for approximately 1km to the summit of Douglas Peak, on the main divide, at the head of Albert Glacier, which flows north-west into Fox Glacier / Te Moeka o Tuawe. NZTopo50 BX16-Mount Elie De Beaumont, from NZTM 1374060E, 5174350N to NZTM 1373980E, 5175240N. Assigning a new name for a feature not named but in common use.
Dated at Wellington this 10th day of May 2012.
HON MAURICE WILLIAMSON, Minister for Land Information.