Notice Type
Land Notices
Notice Title

Notice of the Final Determinations of the Minister for Land Information on Official Geographic Names

Pursuant to section 16 of the New Zealand Geographic Board (Nga Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa) Act 2008 ("the Act"), notice was given in the New Zealand Gazette, 26 August 2010, No. 108, page 2905, of proposals by the New Zealand Geographic Board Nga Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa ("Board") to assign new and alter existing geographic names.
Submissions received for the geographic name proposals were dealt with by the Board according to section 18 of the Act.
After considering reports from the Board, I hereby declare my final determinations for the geographic names, made pursuant to sections 20(2) and 20(3) of the Act, and as specified in the first column of the Schedule below ("the Schedule"), are now the official geographic names.
The geographic feature types that these names relate to are set out in the second column of the Schedule.
The descriptions for these names are set out in the third column of the Schedule.
The dates on which I made my decisions are set out in the fourth column of the Schedule.
My final determinations on these names shall take effect on 3 November 2011.
First Column Second Column Third Column Fourth Column
Name Geographic
Feature Type Description Date of Minister’s Decision
North Auckland Land District
Hobsonville Locality/Suburb Located on the northern shores of Waitemata Harbour, Auckland. Bounded north-west by State Highway 18, south by Clark Road, and east by the shoreline following Boundary Road and Hudson Bay Road. Includes existing residential housing and extends to include the former RNZAF Hobsonville Airfield. To be used for residential housing, apartments, retail and commercial space, schools, open space and reserves, and marine industry precincts. NZTopo50 BA31-Waitemata Harbour, GR 482 269. Assigning a well-established local name over an extended development area. Not Hobsonville Point. 21 August 2011
Tamaki Railway Station Railway Station Bounded by Morrin Road, Jellicoe Road and Pilkington
Road, Auckland, NZTopo50 BA32-Auckland, GR 652 156. Alteration from Marama Railway Station and replacing previous New Zealand Gazette, 29 July 1948, No. 42, page 939. 20 October 2011
Wellington Land District
Colonial Knob Locality Assigning a new name. NZTopo50 BP31-Porirua, GR 518 450. 20 October 2011
Plimmerton Suburb Assigning the existing recorded suburb name of Plimmerton and altering the existing recorded suburb name of Karehana Bay. NZTopo50 BP31-Porirua, GR 559 518 and NZTopo50 BP32-Paraparaumu, GR 569 517. Replacing Karehana Bay (recorded suburb name). 20 October 2011
Ranui Suburb Altering the existing recorded suburb names of Ranui Heights and Porirua East. NZTopo50 BP31-Porirua, GR 553 436 and NZTopo50 BP32-Paraparaumu, GR 560 436. Replacing Ranui Heights and Porirua East (recorded suburb names). 20 October 2011
Te Awa Kairangi / Hutt River River Significant river, flowing south-westerly from the Hutt Forks to Wellington Harbour (Port Nicholson), through Upper Hutt and Lower Hutt. NZTopo50 BP33-Featherston, source: GR 863 544, NZTopo50 BP32-Paraparaumu, NZTopo50 BQ32-Lower Hutt, confluence: GR 591 329. Alteration to a dual name from Hutt River (recorded name). Not altering Western Hutt River and not altering Eastern Hutt River (recorded names). 10 August 2011
Canterbury Land District
St Albans Suburb Assigning the existing recorded suburb name of St Albans. NZTopo50 BX24-Christchurch, centred around GR 706 821. Not Saint Albans or St Albans East or St Albans West. 28 September 2011
Dated at Wellington this 3rd day of November 2011.
HON MAURICE WILLIAMSON, Minister for Land Information.