Notice Type
Notice Title

Designation of Terrorist Entities

On 11 October 2010, pursuant to section 22 of the Terrorism Suppression Act 2002, the organisations listed below were designated as terrorist entities.
Any person who deals with the property of the entity listed below may be liable to prosecution for an offence under section 9 of the Terrorism Suppression Act 2002.
The Indian Mujahideen, also known as IM; and
The Palestinian Islamic Jihad, also known as Palestinian Islamic Jihad - Shaqaqi Faction; Palestinian Islamic Jihad - Shallah Faction; Islamic Jihad; Islamic Jihad (in/of) Palestine; Islamic Jihad - Palestine Faction and Islamic Holy War; Harakat al-Jihad al Islami fi Filistin; Jihad al-Islami; Abu Ghunaym Squad of the Hizballah Bayt al-Maqdis), including its military wing, the al-Quds Brigades (also known as the Saraya al-Quds (Jerusalem Battalions); Saraya al-Mujihadeen; and Al-Awdah Brigades); and
The Izz Al-Din Al-Qassam Brigades (the military wing of Hamas), also known as Ezzedeen Al-Qassam Brigades and Izz al-Din Al-Qassem Brigades; and
The Continuity Irish Republican Army, also known as
the CIRA; and
The Real Irish Republican Army, also known as the RIRA; and
The New People’s Army and the Communist Party of the Philippines, also known as NPA/CPP; and
The military wing of Lebanese Hizbollah, Al-Muqawama al-Islamiyya, also known as The Islamic Resistance
or IR.
The seven statements of case are available on the
New Zealand Police website
This designation expires on 11 October 2013, unless it
is earlier revoked or extended pursuant to section 35 of the Terrorism Suppression Act 2002.
HOWARD BROAD, Commissioner of Police.