Notice Type
Notice Title

Notice of Prohibition of a Heated Clothes Dryer

Pursuant to Regulation 87 of the Electricity (Safety) Regulations 2010, I, David Smol, the Secretary, give notice that the heated clothes dryers (described below) are, or may be, electrically unsafe and therefore prohibit that appliance from being sold, offered for sale or use.
1. Commencement
This prohibition is to take effect on and from 8 October 2010.
2. Description of Appliance
The heated clothes dryers to which this prohibition applies are appliances that:
(a) are product known as "drybars®" Model CR888 Heated clothes dryer and marked with one of the specific batch codes 912, 917, 921 or 932;
(b) were available from The Heated Clothes Rack Company Limited (, Mitre 10, Bunnings and some trade shows, nationally, from 2009 through to July 2010;
(c) are an aluminium formed ladder type rack assembly with an internal heater element and a black plastic control box, collapsible for storage purposes when not in use. The control box is affixed to the aluminium assembly and is supplied by a cord-set fitted with 3 pin plug; and
(d) are rated at: 230-240V, 50Hz, 280-300mA, IPX1, and are of Class I construction, with a total mass of approximately 10kg.
3. Reasons for Prohibition
(a) The heated clothes dryers are deemed to be electrically unsafe under Regulation 23(1)(b) of the Electricity (Safety) Regulations 2010, in that they are not constructed so that they are safe under both normal and abnormal conditions.
(b) Users may not be protected from the risk of a fire that may result in injury and/or property damage, by the failure of electrical insulation, due to a manufacturing fault in construction.
4. Revocation
The Economic Development Notice of prohibition of a heated clothes dryer, made pursuant to Regulation 87 of
the Electrical (Safety) Regulations 2010 and published
in the New Zealand Gazette, 5 August 2010, No. 95, page 2522, is hereby revoked on 7 October 2010.
Dated at Wellington this 4th day of October 2010.
DAVID SMOL, Chief Executive, Ministry of Economic Development.