How do you find using the New Zealand Gazette?

Please give your feedback by completing this survey.

How do you find using the New Zealand Gazette? Please give your feedback by completing this survey.

Notice Type
Notice Title

Maximum Contribution Applying in Each Territorial Local Authority Region From 1 October 2010

Under section 152 of the Social Security Act 1964, the Director-General of Health is required to notify the maximum contribution that applies in each region.
The maximum contribution is the maximum weekly amount (inclusive of GST) that a resident assessed as requiring long-term residential care (through a needs assessment and service coordination agency) is required to pay for contracted care services provided to them in the region in which their rest home or continuing care hospital is located.
Contracted care services are services provided to needs assessed people in a rest home or continuing care hospital that has a contract with a district health board. The services provided are those necessary to meet the person’s assessed care needs in accordance with the agreement between the district health board and the residential care provider.
This agreement covers residents who are:
- eligible for the residential care subsidy (under section 141 of the Act); or
- entitled to have funding paid to cover the difference between the maximum contribution and the cost of contracted care services provided to them (under section 140 of the Act).
The maximum contribution is the same for all residents regardless of the type of contracted care services they receive.
The maximum contribution set by this New Zealand Gazette notice applies from 1 October 2010 and replaces the previous maximum contribution notice published in the New Zealand Gazette, 3 June 2010, No. 61, page 1781.
It is equivalent to the most recent, nationally agreed rest home contract price applying to residential care facilities in each territorial local authority region.
The maximum contribution will change only when a new maximum contribution is gazetted.
New maximum contributions will reflect changes to rest home contract prices that usually result from the annual review of the residential care contract between district health boards and residential care providers.
Region: Territorial Local Authority District Health Board Maximum Contribution Weekly (GST Inclusive)
Far North District Northland $790.44
Whangarei District Northland $811.44
Kaipara District Northland $790.44
Rodney District Waitemata $835.24
North Shore City Waitemata $861.42
Waitakere City Waitemata $840.56
Auckland City Auckland $864.78
Manukau City Counties Manukau $854.35
Papakura District Counties Manukau $835.24
Franklin District Counties Manukau $808.92
Thames-Coromandel District Waikato $794.15
Hauraki District Waikato $794.15
Waikato District Waikato $794.15
Matamata-Piako District Waikato $794.15
Hamilton City Waikato $818.51
Waipa District Waikato $794.15
Otorohanga District Waikato $786.94
South Waikato District Waikato $786.94
Waitomo District Waikato $790.51
Ruapehu District (part in Waikato) Waikato $790.51
Western Bay of Plenty Bay of Plenty $808.92
Tauranga District Bay of Plenty $823.55
Whakatane District Bay of Plenty $804.51
Kawerau District Bay of Plenty $790.44
Opotiki District Bay of Plenty $790.44
Taupo District Lakes $811.44
Rotorua District Lakes $811.44
Gisborne District Tairawhiti $792.26
Wairoa District Hawke’s Bay $807.87
Hastings District Hawke’s Bay $807.87
Napier City Hawke’s Bay $807.87
Central Hawkes Bay District Hawke’s Bay $790.44
New Plymouth District Taranaki $807.87
Stratford District Taranaki $790.44
South Taranaki District Taranaki $794.15
Ruapehu District (part in Whanganui) Whanganui $790.51
Wanganui District Whanganui $794.15
Rangitikei District Whanganui $790.44
Manawatu District MidCentral $790.44
Palmerston North City MidCentral $804.51
Tararua District MidCentral $790.44
Horowhenua District MidCentral $790.44
Kapiti Coast District MidCentral $811.44
Kapiti Coast District Capital & Coast $811.44
Porirua City Capital & Coast $811.44
Wellington City Capital & Coast $840.91
Upper Hutt City Hutt Valley $804.51
Lower Hutt City Hutt Valley $825.16
Masterton District Wairarapa $792.26
Carterton District Wairarapa $790.44
South Wairarapa Wairarapa $790.44
Tasman District Nelson Marlborough $828.87
Nelson City Nelson Marlborough $828.87
Marlborough District Nelson Marlborough $804.51
Buller District West Coast $786.94
Grey District West Coast $786.94
Westland District West Coast $786.94
Kaikoura District Canterbury $808.92
Hurunui District Canterbury $794.15
Waimakariri District Canterbury $808.92
Christchurch City Canterbury $814.94
Banks Peninsula District Canterbury $814.94
Selwyn District Canterbury $808.92
Ashburton District Canterbury $797.51
Timaru District South Canterbury $794.15
Mackenzie District South Canterbury $786.94
Waimate District South Canterbury $786.94
Dunedin City Southern (Otago) $804.51
Clutha District Southern (Otago) $786.94
Waitaki District Southern (Otago) $786.94
Central Otago District Southern (Otago) $790.44
Queenstown-Lakes District Southern (Otago) $825.65
Queenstown-Lakes District Southern (Southland) $825.65
Southland District Southern (Southland) $786.94
Gore District Southern (Southland) $786.94
Invercargill City Southern (Southland) $790.44
Copies of the maximum contribution amounts and other information about income and asset testing can be found on the Ministry of Health website
Needs assessment and service co-ordination agencies, Specialised Processing Services, Work and Income of the Ministry of Social Development and residential care providers will also be able to advise the maximum contributions applying in each region.
Dated at Wellington this 18th day of August 2010.
ANDREW BRIDGMAN, Director-General of Health (Acting).