Notice Type
Notice Title

Maximum Contribution Applying in Each Territorial Local Authority Region From 1 July 2009

Under section 152 of the Social Security Act 1964, the Director-General of Health is required to notify the maximum contribution that applies in each region.
The maximum contribution is the maximum weekly amount (inclusive of GST) that a resident assessed as requiring long-term residential care (through a needs assessment and services coordination agency) is required to pay for contracted care services provided to them in the region in which their rest home or continuing care hospital is located.
Contracted care services are services provided to needs assessed people in a rest home or continuing care hospital that has a contract with a district health board. The services provided are those necessary to meet the person’s assessed care needs in accordance with the agreement between the district health board and the residential care provider.
This agreement covers residents who are:
? eligible for the residential care subsidy (under section 141 of the Act); or
? entitled to have funding paid to cover the difference between the maximum contribution and the cost of contracted care services provided to them (under section 140 of the Act).
The maximum contribution is the same for all residents regardless of the type of contracted care services they receive.
The maximum contribution set by this New Zealand Gazette notice applies from 1 July 2009 and replaces the previous maximum contribution notice published in the New Zealand Gazette, 19 March 2009, No. 35, page 943.
It is equivalent to the most recent, nationally agreed rest home contract price applying to residential care facilities in each territorial local authority region.
The maximum contribution will change only when a new maximum contribution is gazetted.
New maximum contributions will reflect changes to rest home contract prices that usually result from the annual review of the residential care contract between district health boards and residential care providers.
Region: Territorial Local Authority District Health Board Maximum Contribution Weekly (GST Inclusive)
Far North District Northland 762.79
Whangarei District Northland 783.02
Kaipara District Northland 762.79
Rodney District Waitemata 806.05
North Shore City Waitemata 831.32
Waitakere City Waitemata 811.16
Auckland City Auckland 834.54
Manukau City Counties Manukau 824.46
Papakura District Counties Manukau 806.05
Franklin District Counties Manukau 780.64
Thames-Coromandel District Waikato 766.36
Hauraki District Waikato 766.36
Waikato District Waikato 766.36
Matamata-Piako District Waikato 766.36
Hamilton City Waikato 789.88
Waipa District Waikato 766.36
Otorohanga District Waikato 759.50
South Waikato District Waikato 759.50
Waitomo District Waikato 762.86
Ruapehu District (part in Waikato) Waikato 762.86
Western Bay of Plenty Bay of Plenty 780.64
Tauranga District Bay of Plenty 794.78
Whakatane District Bay of Plenty 776.37
Kawerau District Bay of Plenty 762.79
Opotiki District Bay of Plenty 762.79
Taupo District Lakes 783.02
Rotorua District Lakes 783.02
Gisborne District Tairawhiti 764.54
Wairoa District Hawkes Bay 779.59
Hastings District Hawkes Bay 779.59
Napier City Hawkes Bay 779.59
Central Hawkes Bay District Hawkes Bay 762.79
New Plymouth District Taranaki 779.59
Stratford District Taranaki 762.79
South Taranaki District Taranaki 766.36
Ruapehu District (part in Whanganui) Whanganui 762.86
Wanganui District Whanganui 766.36
Rangitikei District Whanganui 762.79
Manawatu District MidCentral 762.79
Palmerston North City MidCentral 776.37
Tararua District MidCentral 762.79
Horowhenua District MidCentral 762.79
Kapiti Coast District MidCentral 783.02
Kapiti Coast District Capital & Coast 783.02
Porirua City Capital & Coast 783.02
Wellington City Capital & Coast 811.51
Upper Hutt City Hutt Valley 776.37
Lower Hutt City Hutt Valley 796.32
Masterton District Wairarapa 764.54
Carterton District Wairarapa 762.79
South Wairarapa Wairarapa 762.79
Tasman District Nelson Marlborough 799.89
Nelson City Nelson Marlborough 799.89
Marlborough District Nelson Marlborough 776.37
Buller District West Coast 759.50
Grey District West Coast 759.50
Westland District West Coast 759.50
Kaikoura District Canterbury 780.64
Hurunui District Canterbury 766.36
Waimakariri District Canterbury 780.64
Christchurch City Canterbury 786.52
Banks Peninsula District Canterbury 786.52
Selwyn District Canterbury 780.64
Ashburton District Canterbury 769.58
Timaru District South Canterbury 766.36
Mackenzie South Canterbury 759.50
Waimate District South Canterbury 759.50
Dunedin City Otago 776.37
Clutha District Otago 759.50
Waitaki District Otago 759.50
Central Otago District Otago 762.79
Queenstown-Lakes District Otago 796.74
Queenstown-Lakes District Southland 796.74
Southland District Southland 759.50
Gore District Southland 759.50
Invercargill City Southland 762.79
Copies of the maximum contribution amounts and other information about income and asset testing can be found on the Ministry of Health website at
Needs assessment and service co-ordination agencies, the Residential Care Subsidy Unit of the Ministry of Social Development and residential care providers will also be able to advise the maximum contributions applying in each region.
Dated at Wellington this 28th day of May 2009.
STEPHEN MCKERNAN, Director-General of Health.