Notice Type
Notice Title

Maximum Contribution Applying in Each Territorial Local Authority Region From 1 April 2009

Under section 152 of the Social Security Act 1964, the Director-General of Health is required to notify the maximum contribution that applies in each region.
The maximum contribution is the maximum weekly amount (inclusive of GST) that a resident assessed as requiring long-term residential care (through a needs assessment and services coordination agency) is required to pay for contracted care services provided to them in the region in which their rest home or continuing care hospital is located.
Contracted care services are services provided to needs assessed people in a rest home or continuing care hospital that has a contract with a district health board.
The services provided are those necessary to meet the person’s assessed care needs in accordance with the agreement between the district health board and the residential care provider.
This agreement covers residents who are:
? eligible for the residential care subsidy (under section 141 of the Act); or
? entitled to have funding paid to cover the difference between the maximum contribution and the cost of contracted care services provided to them (under section 140 of the Act).
The maximum contribution is the same for all residents regardless of the type of contracted care services they receive.
The maximum contribution set by this New Zealand Gazette notice applies from 1 April 2009 and replaces the previous maximum contribution notice published in the New Zealand Gazette, 19 June 2008, No. 100, page 2703.
It is equivalent to the most recent, nationally agreed rest home contract price applying to residential care facilities in each territorial local authority region.
The maximum contribution will change only when a new maximum contribution is gazetted.
New maximum contributions will reflect changes to rest home contract prices that usually result from the annual review of the residential care contract between district health boards and residential care providers.
Region: Territorial Local Authority District Health Board Maximum Contribution Weekly (GST Inclusive)
Far North District Northland 729.89
Whangarei District Northland 749.28
Kaipara District Northland 729.89
Rodney District Waitemata 771.26
North Shore City Waitemata 795.55
Waitakere City Waitemata 776.23
Auckland City Auckland 798.63
Manukau City Counties Manukau 788.97
Papakura District Counties Manukau 771.26
Franklin District Counties Manukau 746.97
Thames-Coromandel District Waikato 733.32
Hauraki District Waikato 733.32
Waikato District Waikato 733.32
Matamata-Piako District Waikato 733.32
Hamilton City Waikato 755.86
Waipa District Waikato 733.32
Otorohanga District Waikato 726.74
South Waikato District Waikato 726.74
Waitomo District Waikato 730.03
Ruapehu District (part in Waikato) Waikato 730.03
Western Bay of Plenty Bay of Plenty 746.97
Tauranga District Bay of Plenty 760.55
Whakatane District Bay of Plenty 742.98
Kawerau District Bay of Plenty 729.89
Opotiki District Bay of Plenty 729.89
Taupo District Lakes 749.28
Rotorua District Lakes 749.28
Gisborne District Tairawhiti 731.64
Wairoa District Hawkes Bay 746.06
Hastings District Hawkes Bay 746.06
Napier City Hawkes Bay 746.06
Central Hawkes Bay District Hawkes Bay 729.89
New Plymouth District Taranaki 746.06
Stratford District Taranaki 729.89
South Taranaki District Taranaki 733.32
Ruapehu District (part in Whanganui) Whanganui 730.03
Wanganui District Whanganui 733.32
Rangitikei District Whanganui 729.89
Manawatu District MidCentral 729.89
Palmerston North City MidCentral 742.98
Tararua District MidCentral 729.89
Horowhenua District MidCentral 729.89
Kapiti Coast District MidCentral 749.28
Kapiti Coast District Capital & Coast 749.28
Porirua City Capital & Coast 749.28
Wellington City Capital & Coast 776.51
Upper Hutt City Hutt Valley 742.98
Lower Hutt City Hutt Valley 762.02
Masterton District Wairarapa 731.64
Carterton District Wairarapa 729.89
South Wairarapa Wairarapa 729.89
Tasman District Nelson Marlborough 765.52
Nelson City Nelson Marlborough 765.52
Marlborough District Nelson Marlborough 742.98
Buller District West Coast 726.74
Grey District West Coast 726.74
Westland District West Coast 726.74
Kaikoura District Canterbury 746.97
Hurunui District Canterbury 733.32
Waimakariri District Canterbury 746.97
Christchurch City Canterbury 752.64
Banks Peninsula District Canterbury 752.64
Selwyn District Canterbury 746.97
Ashburton District Canterbury 736.47
Timaru District South Canterbury 733.32
Mackenzie South Canterbury 726.74
Waimate District South Canterbury 726.74
Dunedin City Otago 742.98
Clutha District Otago 726.74
Waitaki District Otago 726.74
Central Otago District Otago 729.89
Queenstown-Lakes District Otago 762.44
Queenstown-Lakes District Southland 762.44
Southland District Southland 726.74
Gore District Southland 726.74
Invercargill City Southland 729.89
Copies of the maximum contribution amounts and other information about income and asset testing can be found on the Ministry of Health website
Needs assessment and service co-ordination agencies, the Residential Care Subsidy Unit of the Ministry of Social Development and residential care providers will also be able to advise the maximum contributions applying in each region.
Dated at Wellington this 16th day of March 2009.
STEPHEN MCKERNAN, Director-General of Health.