Notice Type
Notice Title

Maximum Contribution Applying in Each Territorial Local Authority Region From 1 July 2007

Under section 152 of the Social Security Act 1964, the Director-General of Health is required to notify the maximum contribution that applies in each region.
The maximum contribution is the maximum weekly amount (inclusive of GST) that a resident assessed as requiring long-term residential care (through a needs assessment and services coordination agency) is required to pay for contracted care services provided to them in the region in which their rest home or continuing care hospital is located.
Contracted care services are services provided to needs assessed people in a rest home or continuing care hospital that has
a contract with a district health board. The services provided are those necessary to meet the person's assessed care needs
in accordance with the agreement between the district health board and the residential care provider.
The agreement covers residents who are:
- eligible for the residential care subsidy (as determined through a financial means assessment under section 141 of the Act); and
- entitled to have funding paid on their behalf to cover the difference between the maximum contribution and the cost
of contracted care services provided to them (as determined under section 140 of the Act).
The maximum contribution is the same for all residents regardless of the type of contracted care services they receive.
The maximum contribution set by this New Zealand Gazette notice applies from 1 July 2007 and replaces the previous maximum contribution notice published in the New Zealand Gazette, 15 June 2006, No. 57, page 1426.
It is equivalent to the most recent, nationally agreed rest home contract price applying to residential care facilities in each territorial local authority region.
The maximum contribution will change only when a new maximum contribution is gazetted.
New maximum contributions will reflect changes to rest home contract prices that usually result from the annual review of the residential care contract between district health boards and residential care providers.
Region: Territorial Local Authority District Health Board Maximum Contribution Weekly (GST Inclusive)
Far North District Northland 706.51
Whangarei District Northland 725.27
Kaipara District Northland 706.51
Rodney District Waitemata 746.48
North Shore City Waitemata 770.07
Waitakere City Waitemata 751.31
Auckland City Auckland 773.08
Manukau City Counties Manukau 763.63
Papakura District Counties Manukau 746.48
Franklin District Counties Manukau 723.03
Thames-Coromandel District Waikato 709.80
Hauraki District Waikato 709.80
Waikato District Waikato 709.80
Matamata-Piako District Waikato 709.80
Hamilton City Waikato 731.64
Waipa District Waikato 709.80
Otorohanga District Waikato 703.43
South Waikato District Waikato 703.43
Waitomo District Waikato 706.58
Ruapehu District (part in Waikato) Waikato 706.58
Western Bay of Plenty Bay of Plenty 723.03
Tauranga District Bay of Plenty 736.19
Whakatane District Bay of Plenty 719.11
Kawerau District Bay of Plenty 706.51
Opotiki District Bay of Plenty 706.51
Taupo District Lakes 725.27
Rotorua District Lakes 725.27
Gisborne District Tairawhiti 708.19
Wairoa District Hawkes Bay 722.12
Hastings District Hawkes Bay 722.12
Napier City Hawkes Bay 722.12
Central Hawkes Bay District Hawkes Bay 706.51
New Plymouth District Taranaki 722.12
Stratford District Taranaki 706.51
South Taranaki District Taranaki 709.80
Ruapehu District (part in Whanganui) Whanganui 706.58
Wanganui District Whanganui 709.80
Rangitikei District Whanganui 706.51
Manawatu District MidCentral 706.51
Palmerston North City MidCentral 719.11
Tararua District MidCentral 706.51
Horowhenua District MidCentral 706.51
Kapiti Coast District MidCentral 725.27
Kapiti Coast District Capital & Coast 725.27
Porirua City Capital & Coast 725.27
Wellington City Capital & Coast 751.59
Upper Hutt City Hutt Valley 719.11
Lower Hutt City Hutt Valley 737.59
Masterton District Wairarapa 708.19
Carterton District Wairarapa 706.51
South Wairarapa Wairarapa 706.51
Tasman District Nelson Marlborough 740.95
Nelson City Nelson Marlborough 740.95
Marlborough District Nelson Marlborough 719.11
Buller District West Coast 703.43
Grey District West Coast 703.43
Westland District West Coast 703.43
Kaikoura District Canterbury 723.03
Hurunui District Canterbury 709.80
Waimakariri District Canterbury 723.03
Christchurch City Canterbury 728.42
Banks Peninsula District Canterbury 728.42
Selwyn District Canterbury 723.03
Ashburton District Canterbury 712.88
Timaru District South Canterbury 709.80
Mackenzie South Canterbury 703.43
Waimate District South Canterbury 703.43
Dunedin City Otago 719.11
Clutha District Otago 703.43
Waitaki District Otago 703.43
Central Otago District Otago 706.51
Queenstown-Lakes District Otago 737.94
Queenstown-Lakes District Southland 737.94
Southland District Southland 703.43
Gore District Southland 703.43
Invercargill City Southland 706.51
Copies of the maximum contribution amounts and other information about income and asset testing can be found on the Ministry of Health website
Needs assessment and service co-ordination agencies, the Residential Care Subsidy Unit of the Ministry of Social Development and residential care providers will also be able to advise the maximum contributions applying in each region.
Dated at Wellington this 6th day of June 2007.
STEPHEN MCKERNAN, Director-General of Health.