Notice Type
Notice Title

Maximum Contribution Applying in Each Territorial Local Authority Region From 1 July 2006

Under section 152 of the Social Security Act 1964, the Director-General of Health is required to notify the maximum contribution that applies in each region.
The maximum contribution is the maximum weekly amount (inclusive of GST) that a resident assessed as requiring long-term residential care is required to pay for contracted care services provided to them in the region in which their rest home or continuing care hospital is located.
Contracted care services are services provided to needs assessed people in a rest home or continuing care hospital that has a contract with a District Health Board. The services provided are those necessary to meet the person’s assessed care needs in accordance with the agreement between the District Health Board and the residential care provider.
The agreement covers:
? residents who are eligible for the residential care subsidy (as determined through a financial means assessment under section 141 of the Act); and
? needs assessed persons who are entitled to have funding paid on their behalf (under section 140) to cover the difference between the maximum contribution and the cost of contracted care services provided to them.
The maximum contribution is the same for all residents regardless of the type of contracted care services they receive.
The maximum contribution set by this New Zealand Gazette notice applies from 1 July 2006 and replaces the previous maximum contribution notice published in the New Zealand Gazette, 2 March 2006, No. 19, page 441.
It is equivalent to the most recent, nationally agreed rest home contract price applying to residential care facilities in each territorial local authority region.
The maximum contribution will change only when a new maximum contribution is gazetted.
New maximum contributions will reflect changes to rest home contract prices that usually result from the annual review of the residential care contract between District Health Boards and residential care providers.
Region: Territorial Local Authority District Health Board Maximum Contribution Weekly (GST Inclusive)
Far North District Northland 660.77
Whangarei District Northland 678.29
Kaipara District Northland 660.77
Rodney District Waitemata 698.13
North Shore City Waitemata 720.12
Waitakere City Waitemata 702.60
Auckland City Auckland 722.98
Manukau City Counties Manukau 714.18
Papakura District Counties Manukau 698.13
Franklin District Counties Manukau 676.21
Thames-Coromandel District Waikato 663.78
Hauraki District Waikato 663.78
Waikato District Waikato 663.78
Matamata-Piako District Waikato 663.78
Hamilton City Waikato 684.23
Waipa District Waikato 663.78
Otorohanga District Waikato 657.84
South Waikato District Waikato 657.84
Waitomo District Waikato 660.85
Ruapehu District (part in Waikato) Waikato 660.85
Western Bay of Plenty Bay of Plenty 676.21
Tauranga District Bay of Plenty 688.48
Whakatane District Bay of Plenty 672.50
Kawerau District Bay of Plenty 660.77
Opotiki District Bay of Plenty 660.77
Taupo District Lakes 678.29
Rotorua District Lakes 678.29
Gisborne District Tairawhiti 662.24
Wairoa Hawkes Bay 675.36
Hastings District Hawkes Bay 675.36
Napier City Hawkes Bay 675.36
Central Hawkes Bay District Hawkes Bay 660.77
New Plymouth District Taranaki 675.36
Stratford District Taranaki 660.77
South Taranaki District Taranaki 663.78
Ruapehu District (part in Whanganui) Whanganui 660.85
Wanganui District Whanganui 663.78
Rangitikei District Whanganui 660.77
Manawatu District MidCentral 660.77
Palmerston North City MidCentral 672.50
Tararua District MidCentral 660.77
Horowhenua District MidCentral 660.77
Kapiti Coast District MidCentral 678.29
Kapiti Coast District Capital & Coast 678.29
Porirua City Capital & Coast 678.29
Wellington City Capital & Coast 702.91
Upper Hutt City Hutt Valley 672.50
Lower Hutt City Hutt Valley 689.79
Masterton District Wairarapa 662.24
Carterton District Wairarapa 660.77
South Wairarapa Wairarapa 660.77
Tasman District Nelson Marlborough 692.95
Nelson City Nelson Marlborough 692.95
Marlborough District Nelson Marlborough 672.50
Buller District West Coast 657.84
Grey District West Coast 657.84
Westland District West Coast 657.84
Kaikoura District Canterbury 676.21
Hurunui District Canterbury 663.78
Waimakariri District Canterbury 676.21
Christchurch City Canterbury 681.22
Banks Peninsula District Canterbury 681.22
Selwyn District Canterbury 676.21
Ashburton District Canterbury 666.64
Timaru District South Canterbury 663.78
Mackenzie South Canterbury 657.84
Waimate District South Canterbury 657.84
Dunedin City Otago 672.50
Clutha District Otago 657.84
Waitaki District Otago 657.84
Central Otago District Otago 660.77
Queenstown-Lakes District Otago 690.10
Queenstown-Lakes District Southland 690.10
Southland District Southland 657.84
Gore District Southland 657.84
Invercargill City Southland 660.77
Copies of the maximum contribution amounts and other information about income and asset testing can be found on the Ministry of Health web site at:
Needs assessment and service co-ordination agencies, the Residential Care Subsidy Unit of the Ministry of Social Development and residential care providers will also be able to advise the maximum contributions applying in each region.
Dated at Wellington this 1st day of June 2006.
DEBBIE CHIN, Acting Director-General of Health.