Notice Type
Notice Title

Maximum Contribution Applying in Each Territorial Local Authority Region From 22 March 2006

Under section 152 of the Social Security Act 1964, the Director-General of Health is required to notify the maximum contribution that applies in each region.
The maximum contribution is the maximum weekly amount (inclusive of G.S.T.) that a resident assessed as requiring long-term residential care is required to pay for contracted care services provided to them in the region in which their rest home or continuing care hospital is located.
Contracted care services are services provided to needs assessed people in a rest home or continuing care hospital that has a contract with a District Health Board (“DHB”). The services are those provided and paid for in accordance with the agreement between the DHB and the residential care provider.
The agreement covers:
? residents who are eligible for the residential care subsidy (as determined through a financial means assessment under section 141 of the Act); and
? needs assessed persons who are entitled to have funding paid on their behalf (under section 140) to cover the difference between the maximum contribution and the cost of contracted care services provided to them.
The maximum contribution is the same for all residents regardless of the type of contracted care services they receive.
The maximum contribution set by this New Zealand Gazette notice applies from 22 March 2006 and replaces the previous maximum contribution notice published in the New Zealand Gazette, 23 June 2005, No 94, page 2253.
It is equivalent to the most recent, nationally agreed rest home contract price applying to residential care facilities in each territorial local authority region.
The maximum contribution is set at $636.00 per week (G.S.T. inclusive) for any region where the rest home contract price is lower than $636.00.
The maximum contribution will change only when a new maximum contribution is gazetted.
New maximum contributions will reflect changes to rest home contract prices that usually result from the annual review of the residential care contract between DHBs and residential care providers.
Region: Territorial Local Authority District Health Board Maximum Contribution Weekly (G.S.T. inclusive)
Far North District Northland $640.94
Whangarei District Northland $657.92
Kaipara District Northland $640.94
Rodney District Waitemata $677.13
North Shore City Waitemata $698.43
Waitakere City Waitemata $681.46
Auckland City Auckland $701.21
Manukau City Counties Manukau $692.72
Papakura District Counties Manukau $677.13
Franklin District Counties Manukau $655.91
Thames-Coromandel District Waikato $643.79
Hauraki District Waikato $643.79
Waikato District Waikato $643.79
Matamata-Piako District Waikato $643.79
Hamilton City Waikato $663.63
Waipa District Waikato $643.79
Otorohanga District Waikato $638.08
South Waikato District Waikato $638.08
Waitomo District Waikato $641.02
Ruapehu District (part in Waikato) Waikato $641.02
Western Bay of Plenty Bay of Plenty $655.91
Tauranga District Bay of Plenty $667.80
Whakatane District Bay of Plenty $652.28
Kawerau District Bay of Plenty $640.94
Opotiki District Bay of Plenty $640.94
Taupo District Lakes $657.92
Rotorua District Lakes $657.91
Gisborne District Tairawhiti $642.33
Wairoa Hawkes Bay $655.10
Hastings District Hawkes Bay $655.10
Napier City Hawkes Bay $655.10
Central Hawkes Bay District Hawkes Bay $640.97
New Plymouth District Taranaki $655.10
Stratford District Taranaki $640.97
South Taranaki District Taranaki $643.78
Ruapehu District (part in Whanganui) Whanganui $641.02
Wanganui District Whanganui $643.78
Rangitikei District Whanganui $640.97
Manawatu District MidCentral $640.97
Palmerston North City MidCentral $652.29
Tararua District MidCentral $640.97
Horowhenua District MidCentral $640.94
Kapiti Coast District MidCentral $640.97
Kapiti Coast District Capital & Coast $640.97
Porirua City Capital & Coast $657.92
Wellington City Capital & Coast $681.76
Upper Hutt City Hutt Valley $652.28
Lower Hutt City Hutt Valley $669.03
Masterton District Wairarapa $642.34
Carterton District Wairarapa $640.97
South Wairarapa Wairarapa $640.97
Tasman District Nelson Marlborough $672.12
Nelson City Nelson Marlborough $672.11
Marlborough District Nelson Marlborough $652.29
Buller District West Coast $638.08
Grey District West Coast $638.08
Westland District West Coast $638.08
Kaikoura District Canterbury $655.90
Hurunui District Canterbury $643.78
Waimakariri District Canterbury $655.90
Christchurch City Canterbury $660.80
Banks Peninsula District Canterbury $655.10
Selwyn District Canterbury $655.90
Ashburton District Canterbury $646.59
Timaru District South Canterbury $643.78
Mackenzie South Canterbury $638.08
Waimate District South Canterbury $638.08
Dunedin City Otago $652.28
Clutha District Otago $638.08
Waitaki District Otago $638.08
Central Otago District Otago $640.94
Queenstown-Lakes District Otago $669.30
Queenstown-Lakes District Southland $669.30
Southland District Southland $638.08
Gore District Southland $638.08
Invercargill City Southland $640.97
Copies of the maximum contribution amounts and other information about income and asset testing can be found on the Ministry of Health web site at:
Needs assessment and service co-ordination agencies, the Residential Care Subsidy Unit of the Ministry of Social Development and residential care providers will also be able to advise the maximum contributions applying in each region.
Dated at Wellington this 27th day of February 2006.
KAREN O. POUTASI (DR), Director-General of Health.