Notice Type
Authorities/Other Agencies of State
Notice Title

Bylaw Regulating the Speed of Vehicles on

State Highways in Transit New Zealand
Regions 7 and 8
Pursuant to section 61 (3) of the Transit New Zealand Act 1989, Transit New Zealand hereby makes the following bylaw.
B y l a w
1. Title and commencement-This bylaw may be cited as the Transit New Zealand (Speed of Vehicles on State Highways) Bylaw 2001/14 and shall come into force
28 days after its publication in the New Zealand Gazette.
2. Interpretation-In this bylaw:
"Motor vehicle" has the same meaning as in the Transport Act 1962.
3. Limiting of speed of vehicles on State highways-No person shall drive or take or permit to be driven or taken any vehicle at a speed exceeding 80 kilometres per hour on the sections of State highway described in the Schedule to
this bylaw.
4. That section of State Highway No. 3 that is at Bell Block from a point (Route Position 229/5.21) 10 metres west
of Jersey Place to a point (Route Position 229/7.31)
200 metres east of Vickers Road; a distance of 2.10 kilometres.
5. That section of State Highway No. 4 that is at National Park from a point (Route Position 94/19.075) 140 metres north of Carroll Street to a point (Route Position 114/0.20) 200 metres south of State Highway No. 47; a distance of
897 metres.
6. That section of State Highway No. 45 at Omata, commencing at a point (Route Position 0/6.90) 115 metres north of Beach Road and proceeding in a generally southerly direction to a point (Route Position 0/8.20) 430 metres south of Sealy Road; a distance of 1.3 kilometres.
7. That section of State Highway No. 57 that is at Palmerston North, commencing at the intersection of Aokautere Drive and Summerhill Drive (Route Position 50/0.00), proceeding in a generally north-easterly direction along Aokautere Drive to the intersection with Moonshine Valley Road (Route Position 50/1.88); a distance of
1.88 kilometres.
This bylaw was made by resolution of the Transit
New Zealand Authority at a meeting held in Wellington on 4 April 2001.
Dated at Wellington this 6th day of April 2001.
Signed on behalf of Transit New Zealand by:
J. H. VAN BARNEVELD, National Highway Manager, Transit New Zealand.