Appointment of Directors of Area Mental Health Services

Pursuant to section 92 of the Mental Health (Compulsory Assessment and Treatment) Act 1992, I, Dr Diana Sarfati, Director-General of Health:

- 1. Revoke all previous notices appointing the Directors of Area Mental Health Services made by the Director-General of Health pursuant to section 92 of the Mental Health (Compulsory Assessment and Treatment) Act 1992 ("Act"); and
- 2. Appoint the persons set out in the Schedule of this notice as Directors of Area Mental Health Services for the areas specified below pursuant to section 92 of the Act.

Schedule

Area of Responsibility	Person Appointed
Health New Zealand Te Whatu Ora Te Tai Tokerau Northland	Dr Margaret Aimer, psychiatrist, of Auckland
Health New Zealand Te Whatu Ora Waitematā	Michelle Dawson, registered nurse, of Auckland
Health New Zealand Te Whatu Ora Te Toka Tumai Auckland	Dr John Jacques, consultant psychiatrist, of Auckland
Health New Zealand Te Whatu Ora Counties Manukau	Dr Eric Pushparajah, consultant psychiatrist, of Manukau
Health New Zealand Te Whatu Ora Waikato	Dr Rees Tapsell, psychiatrist, of Auckland
Health New Zealand Te Whatu Ora Hauora a Toi Bay of Plenty	Dr Andrew Wilkinson, consultant psychiatrist, of Tauranga
Health New Zealand Te Whatu Ora Lakes	Joanna Price, registered nurse, of Rotorua
Health New Zealand Te Whatu Ora Tairāwhiti	Dr Inez Awatere-Walker, clinical psychologist, of Hawke's Bay
Health New Zealand Te Whatu Ora Taranaki	Ross Ekdahl, nurse practitioner, of Waitara
Health New Zealand Te Whatu Ora Te Matau a Māui Hawke's Bay	Dr Inez Awatere-Walker, clinical psychologist, of Hawke's Bay
Health New Zealand Te Whatu Ora Te Pae Hauora o Ruahine o Tararua MidCentral	Dr Alison Masters, psychiatrist, of Palmerston North
Health New Zealand Te Whatu Ora Capital, Coast and Hutt Valley	Jeff Hammond, registered nurse, of Whanganui
Health New Zealand Te Whatu Ora Nelson Marlborough	Dr Neil Yorke, consultant psychiatrist, of Nelson
Health New Zealand Te Whatu Ora Te Tai o Poutini West Coast	Dr Heather McPherson, consultant psychiatrist, of Runanga
Health New Zealand Te Whatu Ora Waitaha Canterbury	Dr Sigi Schmidt, Chief of Psychiatry, of Christchurch
Health New Zealand Te Whatu Ora Whanganui	Jeff Hammond, registered nurse, of Wellington
Health New Zealand Te Whatu Ora Wairarapa	Jeff Hammond, registered nurse, of Wellington
Health New Zealand Te Whatu Ora South Canterbury	Dr Cecilia Smith-Hamel, medical practitioner, of Timaru
Health New Zealand Te Whatu Ora Southern	Ruth Manning, psychiatric nurse, of Dunedin

Dated at Wellington this 18th day of February 2025.

Dr DIANA SARFATI, Director-General of Health, Te Tumu Whakarae mō te Hauora.

2025-go905 19-02-2025 09:01