Notice of Proposed Electoral Districts of New Zealand

The Representation Commission ("Commission") hereby gives notice that it proposes to make a division of New Zealand into 64 general electoral districts and seven Māori electoral districts in accordance with sections 35 and 45 of the Electoral Act 1993 ("Act"). The following information is supplied pursuant to sections 38 and 45 of the Act and for the assistance of the public:

- 1. From 11.30am on Tuesday, 25 March 2025 the public may inspect online and, without charge and subject to the delivery of physical copies, at the places listed in the Schedule hereto:
 - a. the names, and a description of the boundaries of the proposed districts, including maps; and
 - b. a summary, in respect of each proposed district, of the reasons why the boundaries described are being proposed.

The above descriptions in text and map form can be viewed at vote.nz.

- 2. Written objections to the proposed boundaries or to the proposed names are now invited and must be received by the Commission no later than midnight on Sunday, 27 April 2025.
- 3. The Commission is required by law to give due consideration to certain criteria, which can be viewed at vote.nz.
- 4. Objections may be lodged:
 - online at: vote.nz;
 - by post addressed to: The Secretary, Representation Commission, PO Box 3220, Wellington 6140; or
 - by email to: representation.commission@elections.govt.nz.
- 5. All objections will be published online at vote.nz including the objectors' names. A public notice inviting counter-objections is expected to be gazetted on Thursday, 8 May 2025.

Dated at Wellington this 25th day of March 2025.

JUDGE KEVIN KELLY, Chair of the Representation Commission.

Schedule of Places for Inspection

General and Māori Electorates

- 1. The offices of all Regional Councils, District Councils, and City Councils.
- 2. The offices of the Electoral Commission at Auckland, Lower Hutt, Wellington and Christchurch.
- 3. Te Puni Kōkiri offices at Whangārei, Auckland, Hamilton, Rotorua, Tauranga, Whakatāne, Gisborne, Hastings, New Plymouth, Whanganui, Porirua, Wellington, Nelson, Christchurch, Dunedin and Invercargill.
- 4. All Public Libraries.

2025-au1585 25-03-2025 11:31