NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

Notice of Decisions to Adopt Undersea Feature Names as Official

Pursuant to section 26 of the New Zealand Geographic Board (Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa) Act 2008, the New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa ("Board") gives notice of five adopted official undersea feature names beyond New Zealand's 12 nautical mile territorial limit, as described in the Schedule below.

The Board's final determinations on these undersea feature names took effect on 6 June 2024.

Schedule

Official Adopted Undersea Feature Name	Description
East Chatham Gap	An undersea gap at -42.5528 latitude, -169.5799 longitude, at the easternmost end of Chatham Rise, approximately 550km north-northeast of the Chatham Islands. Adopted as official.
Fantail Terrace	An undersea terrace at -28.4681 latitude, 173.8599 longitude, which protrudes from the northeast side of Three Kings Ridge, centred approximately 700km north-northeast of Cape Reinga / Te Rerenga Wairua. Adopted as official.
La Rose Fracture Zone	An undersea fracture zone in the Southern Ocean, approximately 990km northeast of Scott Island, extending from -61.1074, -167.293 to -64.4415, -155.503. Adopted as official.
Le Petit Prince Fracture Zone	An undersea fracture zone in the Southern Ocean, approximately 1344km northeast of Scott Island, extending from -64.5166, -144.892 to -59.6649, -162.847. Adopted as official.
Le Renard Fracture Zone	An undersea fracture zone in the Southern Ocean, approximately 1130km northeast of Scott Island, extending from -59.5481, -169.524 to -65.3923, -148.144. Adopted as official.

Dated at Wellington this 6th day of June 2024.

W. K. SHAW, Secretary, New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa.

2024-ln2243 06-06-2024 10:00