Terrorist Designation of One Entity Expired; Designation of Four Terrorist Entities

On 14 December 2024 the terrorist designation of **Euskadi Ta Askatasuna** (**ETA**, also known as **Euzkadi Ta Azkatasuna**, **Euzkadi Ta Askatasuna**, **Basque Fatherland and Liberty**, **Basque Nation and Liberty**, and **Basque Homeland and Freedom**), made pursuant to section 22 of the Terrorism Suppression Act 2002 ("TSA") on 10 February 2010, and renewed pursuant to then section 35 of the TSA on 11 February 2013, 2 February 2016, 30 January 2019, and 14 December 2021, will expire.

Any person who deals with the property of **ETA** is no longer liable to prosecution for an offence under section 9 or 10 of the TSA.

On 20 November 2024, pursuant to section 29C of the Terrorism Suppression Act 2002 ("TSA"), the designation as a terrorist entity of the organisation known as **Islamic Resistance** (IR, also known as **Al-Muqawama al-Islamiyya**, **Military Wing of Lebanese Hizballah**, **Military Wing of Hezbollah**, **Military Wing of Hizbullah**) was revoked.

On 20 November 2024, pursuant to section 22 of the Terrorism Suppression Act 2002 ("TSA"), the organisation **Hizbollah** was designated as a terrorist entity in New Zealand. The designation of this organisation supersedes and incorporates **IR**.

On 20 November 2024 pursuant to section 22 of the Terrorism Suppression Act 2002 ("TSA"), the organisations listed below were designated as terrorist entities in New Zealand.

Any person who deals with the property of, or makes property or financial or related services available to, the entities listed below may be liable to prosecution for an offence under sections 9 and 10 of the TSA.

Furthermore, any institution or person who suspects that property is owned by any of these listed entities is required to report the existence of that property to the Commissioner of Police.

Organisations

Al-Shabaab (AS) (also known as Al-Shabaab al-Islamiya, Harakat al-Shabaab al-Mujahideen, Mujahidin Youth Movement, Shabaab al-Mujahideen Movement or Young Mujahideen Movement in Somalia),

and

Partiya Karkeren Kurdistan (PKK) (also known as **Kurdistan Workers Party, Kongra Gel, Kongra Gele Kurdistan, Kurdistan Labour Party** and **Kurdistan People's Congress**),

and

Hizbollah (HZ) (also known as Al-Muqawamah al-Islamiyyah; Followers of God; Followers of the Prophet Muhammad; God's Helpers; Hezballah; Hezbollah; Hezbullah; Hisbollah; Hizbollah; Hizbullah; Islamic Holy War; Islamic Jihad; Islamic Jihad for the Liberation of Palestine; Islamic Jihad Organisation; Islamic Resistance; Organisation of the Oppressed; Organisation of the Oppressed on Earth; Organisation of Right against Wrong; Partisans of God; Party of Allah; The Party of God),

 $\quad \text{and} \quad$

Ansar Allah (AA), also known as The Houthis.

The statement of case for all groups' designation is available on the New Zealand Police website: http://www.police.govt.nz/advice/personal-community/counterterrorism/designated-entities/lists-associated-with-resolution-1373.

The designations of **AS**, **PKK**, **HZ** and **AA** will expire on 20 November 2027 unless earlier revoked or extended pursuant to section 29B or 29C of the TSA.

Chair of the Terrorist Designation Working Group on behalf of the Prime Minister.

2024-go5987

20-11-2024 13:31