Designation of Three Terrorist Entities

On 17 March 2024 pursuant to section 29A of the Terrorism Suppression Act 2002 (TSA), the description of two organisations designated as terrorist entities in New Zealand were changed.

Maute Group was changed to Islamic State Lanao (IS-Lanao), and Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant Sinai (ISIL Sinai) was changed to Islamic State Sinai (IS-Sinai).

In addition, on 17 March 2024 pursuant to section 29B of the Terrorism Suppression Act 2002 (TSA), the organisations listed below were designated as a terrorist entity in New Zealand.

Any person who deals with the property of, or makes property or financial or related services available to, the entities listed below may be liable to prosecution for an offence under sections 9 and 10 of the TSA.

Furthermore, any institution or person who suspects that property is owned by either entity is required to report the existence of that property to the Commissioner of Police.

Organisations

Islamic State Lanao (IS-Lanao, formerly designated under description Maute Group); also known as Islamic State in Lanao, Islamic State of Lanao, Islamic State Lanao, IS-Ranao, Lions of IS Ranao, Daulah Islamiyah Fi Ranao, Daulah Islamiyah MG, Dawla Islamiya Ranao, Daulah Islamiyah, Islamic State in the Southern Philippines, Islamic State East Asia, Maute ISIS, Grupong ISIS, Grupo ISIS, and previously known as Khilafah Islamiyah Mindanao (KIM).

and

Islamic State Sinai (IS-Sinai, formerly designated under description Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant, and Ansar Bayt al-Maqdis); also known as AMB, Jamaat Ansar Bayt al-Maqdis, Ansar Beit al-Maqdis, Ansar Jerusalem, Jamaat Ansar al-Dalwa al-Islamiyya fi Bayt Al Maqdis, Aknaf Bayt al-Maqdis, Aknaf Beit al-Maqdis, Supporters of the Holy House, Mu'tassim Billah Battalion, Group of Partisans of Jerusalem, Sinai Peninsula, Wilaya of Sinai of the Islamic State, Wilayat Sinai, Wilayah Sinai, Wilayat Sayna, Islamic State-Sinai Province, Sinai Province, Province of Sinai, Islamic State in the Sinai, Daesh Sinai Province, and Islamic State of Iraq and ash-Sham in the Sinai.

and

Jamaah Anshrout Daulah; also known as JAD, Jemaah Anshorut Daulah, Jamaah Ansharut Daulah, Jemaah Ansharut Daulah, Jemaah Ansharut Daulah, Jemaah Anshar Daulah, Jamaah Ansharud Daulah, The Partisans of the State Group, Jamaah Anshar Daulah Khilafah Nusantara, Jemaah Anshar Daulah Khilafah Nusantara (JADKN) and Jamaah Ansharut Khalifah Daulah Nusantara (JAKDN).

The statement of case for all groups' designation is available on the New Zealand Police website: http://www.police.govt.nz/advice/personal-community/counterterrorism/designated-entities/lists-associated-with-resolution-1373.

The designations of IS-Lanao, IS-Sinai, and JAD will expire on 17 March 2027 unless earlier revoked or extended pursuant to section 29C or 29B of the TSA (respectively).

ANDREW COSTER, Commissioner of Police.

2024-go1233 22-03-2024 12:00