Notice of the Final Determinations of the Minister for Land Information on Official Geographic Names

Pursuant to section 16 of the New Zealand Geographic Board (Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa) Act 2008 ("Act"), notice was given in the <u>New Zealand Gazette</u>, 20 November 2019, Notice No. 2019-ln5295, of proposals by the New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa ("Board") to assign and alter existing geographic names.

The Board dealt with the submissions it received for the proposals according to section 18 of the Act.

Having considered the reports from the Board, I hereby declare that my final determinations, made pursuant to sections 20(2) and 20(3) of the Act, are the official geographic names as described in the Schedule below.

I made my decisions on 16 May 2020 and my final determinations on the names will take effect on 8 July 2020.

Schedule

Official Geographic Name Geographic Feature Type and Description

Aua / King Billy Island A small island between Otamahua/Quail Island and Moepuku Point at

NZTopo50-BX24 746686. Alteration from King Billy Island (official name by

New Zealand Gazette, 2 March 1978, No. 13, page 422).

Harbour/Whakaraupō. NZTopo50-BX24 721680 to 725676. Alteration from

Mansons Peninsula (official name by New Zealand Gazette, 2 March 1978, No. 13,

page 422).

Lancaster A mountain in Tararua Range, approximately 19km southeast of Levin.

NZTopo50-BN34 048848. Existing recorded name assigned as official.

Ömawete / Coopers Knob A hill at 573m with geodetic mark A579 at the summit, approximately 13.5km

south of Christchurch. NZTopo50-BX24 697657. Alteration from Coopers Knob

(recorded name).

Örongomai / Cass Peak A hill at 545m, approximately 1.7km west of Öhinetahi. NZTopo50-BX24 697685.

Alteration from Cass Peak (recorded name).

Pukeatua / Dyers Pass A pass between Christchurch and Governors Bay. NZTopo50-BX24 714718.

Alteration from Dyers Pass (recorded name).

Tapuwaeharuru / Evans Pass A pass between Lyttelton and Sumner, at the junction of Evans Pass Road, Sumner

Road and Summit Road. NZTopo50-BX24 797732. Alteration from Evans Pass (official name by *New Zealand Gazette*, 26 June 2003, No. 73, page 1896). A rocky outcrop approximately 1.3km north of Te Rāpaki-o-Te Rakiwhakaputa.

Te Ahi-a-Tamatea A rocky outcrop approximately 1.3km north of Te Rāpaki-o-Te Rakiwhakaputa.

NZTopo50-BX24 738732. Locally known as Rāpaki Rock. Assigning a new name as

-ce-:-1

official.

 $\label{thm:conditional} Te\ Heru-o-Kahukura\ /\ Sugarloaf \qquad A\ hill\ at\ 496m\ with\ geodetic\ mark\ A57B\ at\ the\ summit,\ approximately\ 2km\ north$

of Governors Bay. NZTopo50-BX24 717721. Alteration from Sugarloaf (recorded

name).

 $\label{thm:condition} \mbox{Te Moenga-o-Wheke / The Tors} \qquad \mbox{A rocky outcrop approximately 1.4km northwest of Lyttelton.}$

NZTopo50-BX24 754734. Alteration from The Tors (official name by *New Zealand Gazette*, 26 June 2003, No. 73, page 1896) and existing location and feature type.

Te Piaka / Adderley Head A headland at the entrance to Lyttelton Harbour/Whakaraupō.

NZTopo50-BX24 859720. Alteration from Adderley Head (official name by

New Zealand Gazette, 26 June 2003, No. 73, page 1896).

Te Rāpaki-o-Te Rakiwhakaputa — A locality on the shore of Rāpaki Bay, in Lyttelton Harbour/Whakaraupō.

NZTopo50-BX24 742719. Alteration from Rapaki (recorded name).

Te Tihi-o-Kahukura / Castle Rock A rock outcrop approximately 2km northwest of Lyttelton.

NZTopo50-BX24 757739. Alteration from Tihiokahukura/Castle Rock (official name

by New Zealand Gazette, 26 June 2003, No. 73, page 1896).

Te Upoko-o-Kurī / Witch Hill A hill at 421m approximately 3km northwest of Lyttelton.

NZTopo50-BX24 740733. Alteration from Witch Hill (official name by $New\ Zealand$

Gazette, 2 March 1978, No. 13, page 422).

Dated at Wellington this 8th day of July 2020.

HON EUGENIE SAGE, Minister for Land Information.

2020-ln2410 08-07-2020 10:00