# Fisheries (Notification of Komiti Whakahaere and Additional Poutiriao for Te Arawa Lakes Fisheries Area) Notice 2020 (Notice No. MPI 1148)

Pursuant to Regulation 9 of Te Arawa Lakes (Fisheries) Regulations 2006, the Minister of Fisheries gives the following notice.

## **Notice**

#### 1. Title

This notice is the Fisheries (Notification of Komiti Whakahaere and Additional Poutiriao for Te Arawa Lakes Fisheries Area Notice 2020 (Notice No. MPI 1148).

## 2. Commencement

This notice comes into force on 24 April 2020.

#### 3. Fisheries Area

This notice applies to the fisheries area defined in Te Arawa Lakes Settlement Act 2006. The area includes Lakes Rotoehu, Rotomā, Rotorua/Te Rotorua nui a Kahumatamomoe, Ōkataina/Te Moana I Kataina a Te Rangitakaroro, Rotoiti/ Te Roto Whaiti I Kite ai a Ihenga I Ariki ai a Kahumatamomoe, Ōkareka, Rerewhakaaitu, Tarawera, Rotomahana, Tikitapu (the Blue Lake), Ngāhewa, Tutaeīnanga, Ngāpouri (Opouri) and Ōkaro (Ngakaro).

## 4. New Appointments to Komiti Whakahaere

- (1) The Minister of Fisheries has appointed Laurence Tamati, Willie Emery, John Waka and Terry Tapsell as members of the Komiti Whakahaere for the fisheries area.
- (2) The appointments took effect on 23 March 2020.

## 5. New Additional Poutiriao

- (1) The Minister of Fisheries has appointed Cyrus Hingston and William Anaru as additional Poutiriao for the fisheries area.
- (2) The appointments took effect on 23 March 2020.

Dated at Napier this 12th day of April 2020.

Hon STUART NASH, Minister of Fisheries.

## **Explanatory Note**

This note is not part of the notice, but is intended to indicate its general effect.

This notice is made under the Te Arawa Lakes ("Fisheries") Regulations 2006 ("regulations"). It comes into force on **24 April 2020**.

The notice relates to Te Arawa Lakes fisheries area that includes Lakes Rotoehu, Rotomā, Rotorua/Te Rotorua nui a Kahumatamomoe, Ōkataina/Te Moana I Kataina a Te Rangitakaroro, Rotoiti/Te Roto Whaiti I kite ai a Ihenga i Ariki ai a Kahumatamomoe, Ōkareka, Rerewhakaaitu, Tarawera, Rotomahana, Tikitapu (the Blue Lake), Ngāhewa, Tutaeīnanga, Ngāpouri (Opouri) and Ōkaro (Ngakaro).

Notice is given of the appointment of four members to the Komiti Whakahaere and the appointment of two additional Poutiriao. The Minister of Fisheries made the appointments at the request of Te Arawa Lakes Trust.

The powers of the Komiti Whakahaere and Poutiriao are set out in the regulations.

Date of notification in the New Zealand Gazette: 12 April 2020.

This notice is administered by the Ministry for Primary Industries.

2020-qo1681 17-04-2020 16:47