NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

Terrorist Designation of One Entity Expired; Terrorist Designation of Three Entities Renewed

On 2 February 2019 the terrorist designation of Fuerzas Armadas Revolucionarias de Colombia (FARC, also known as Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia), made pursuant to section 22 of the Terrorism Suppression Act 2002 (TSA) on 10 February 2010, and renewed pursuant to section 35 of the TSA on 11 February 2013 and 2 February 2016, expired.

Any person who deals with the property of FARC is no longer liable to prosecution for an offence under section 9 of the TSA.

On 30 January 2019 the terrorist designations of Al-Shabaab; Partiya Karkeren Kurdistan (PKK), and; Euskadi Ta Askatasuna (ETA) were renewed pursuant to section 35 of the TSA.

Any person who deals with the property of the entities listed below may be liable to prosecution for an offence under section 9 of the TSA.

Organisations

Al-Shabaab (also known as Al-Shabaab al-Islamiya, Harakat al-Shabaab al-Mujahideen, Mujahidin Youth Movement, Shabaab al-Mujahideen Movement or Young Mujahideen Movement in Somalia); and

Partiya Karkeren Kurdistan (PKK, also known as Kurdistan Workers Party, Kongra Gel, Kongra Gele Kurdistan, Kurdistan Labour Party and Kurdistan People's Congress); and

Euskadi Ta Askatasuna (ETA, also known as Euzkadi Ta Azkatasuna, Euzkadi Ta Askatasuna, Basque Fatherland and Liberty, Basque Nation and Liberty, and Basque Homeland and Freedom).

Statements of case for Al-Shabaab and PKK's designation renewal are available on the New Zealand Police website: <u>http://www.police.govt.nz/advice/personal-community/counterterrorism/designated-entities/lists-associated-with-resolution-1373</u>.

Pursuant to section 30 of the TSA, the statement of case for ETA's designation renewal contains classified security information and is therefore not published on the New Zealand Police website.

The designations of Al-Shabaab, PKK and ETA expire on 30 January 2022 unless earlier revoked or extended pursuant to section 35 of the TSA.

MIKE BUSH, Commissioner of Police.

2019-go557

08-02-2019 12:00