Notice of Valid Crown Protected Area Names

Pursuant to section 35(3) of the New Zealand Geographic Board (Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa) Act 2008 ("Act"), the New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa hereby gives notice of the following four names that have been assigned to, or altered for, Crown Protected Areas (as defined in section 4 of the Act) that have been validated in terms of section 35(2) of the Act, but which have not had their names previously gazetted.

These Crown Protected Area names are deemed official geographic names and are valid as if they had been assigned or altered in accordance with the Act.

For more information about these Crown Protected Areas, visit the Department of Conservation website:

www.doc.govt.nz

Schedule

Crown Protected Area Names (4)	Establishing Legislation	Position in terms of NZ Transverse Mercator 2000 projection	
		metres north	metres east
Canterbury Land District - Eastern South Island Operations Region			
Aoraki/Mount Cook National Park	Sections 6(3) and 7(1)(d) of the National Parks Act 1980	5169000	1380900
	Section 162 of the Ngāi Tahu Claims Settlement Act 1998		
Westland Land District - Western South Island Operations Region			
Westland National Park/Tai Poutini National Park	Section 7(1)(d) of the National Parks Act 1980	5172100	1364500
	Schedule 96 of the Ngāi Tahu Claims Settlement Act 1998		
Westland and Canterbury Land Districts - Western South Island and Eastern South Island Operations Regions			
Arthur's Pass National Park	Sections 6(1)(c) and 6(2) of the National Parks Act 1980	5248700	1482900
Southland and Otago Land Districts - Southern South Island Operations Region			
Fiordland National Park	Section 6(1)(e) of the National Parks Act 1980	4958600	1157500
Dated at Wellington this 2nd day of June 2016.			
W. K. SHAW, Secretary, New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa.			
2016-ln3181			