Notice Type
Authorities/Other Agencies of State
New Zealand Fire Service Fire Regions Notice 1997 Pursuant to section 24 of the Fire Service Act 1975, the New Zealand Fire Service Commission hereby gives the following notice. N o t i c e 1. This notice may be cited as the New Zealand Fire Service Fire Regions Notice 1997. 2. This notice shall come into force on the 12th day of December 1997, after its notification in the New Zealand Gazette. 3. The New Zealand Fire Service Regions and Areas Notice 1995* is hereby revoked. 4. In this notice ``fire region'' and ``territorial authority'' mean a fire region and a territorial authority as described in section 2 of the Fire Service Act 1975. Constitution of Fire Regions 5. The fire regions listed in Schedule 1 are hereby constituted and declared as New Zealand Fire Service Fire Regions. 6. The territorial authorities within each fire region are listed in Schedule 2. 7. The boundaries of the constituted fire regions are more particularly delineated on plan number 125 entitled New Zealand Fire Service Fire Regions and deposited at the headquarters of the New Zealand Fire Service at Wellington. Schedule 1 New Zealand Fire Service Fire Regions Northland Region Auckland Region Bay-Waikato Region Eastern Region Western Region Arapawa Region Transalpine Region Southern Region Schedule 2 Territorial Authorities within Fire Regions Northland Region Far North District Whangarei District Kaipara District Auckland Region Rodney District North Shore City Waitakere City Auckland City Manukau City Papakura District Franklin District Bay-Waikato Region Waikato District Hamilton City Waipa District Otorohanga District Thames-Coromandel Waitomo District District Hauraki District Matamata-Piako District South Waikato District Taupo District Western Bay of Plenty Tauranga District District Kawerau District Rotorua District Opotiki District Whakatane District Eastern Region Gisborne District Wairoa District Hastings District Napier City Central Hawke's Bay Tararua District District Chatham Islands Western Region New Plymouth District Stratford District South Taranaki District Ruapehu District Wanganui District Rangitikei District Manawatu District Palmerston North City Horowhenua District Arapawa Region Kapiti Coast District Porirua City Upper Hutt City Hutt City Wellington City Masterton District Carterton District South Wairarapa District Marlborough District Nelson City Tasman District Transalpine Region Kaikoura District Buller District Grey District Westland District Hurunui District Waimakariri District Christchurch City Banks Peninsula District Selwyn District Ashburton District Timaru District Mackenzie District Waimate District Southern Region Waitaki District Dunedin City Clutha District Central Otago District Queenstown-Lakes District Gore District Invercargill City Southland District Dated at Wellington this 2nd day of December 1997. M. J. DUDFIELD, Chief Executive (Acting), New Zealand Fire Service, for and on behalf of the New Zealand Fire Service Commission. *New Zealand Gazette, 1995, Vol. II, page 1214. (Reference: CE-I05.10)
Publication Date
4 Dec 1997

Notice Number


Page Number